Remote NAS Backup - TCP/IP configuration

Discuss backup and restore functions of the DiskStation with respect other DiskStations, USB/eSATA, network backup, or other rsync clients.
Forum rules
1) This is a user forum for Synology users to share experience/help out each other: if you need direct assistance from the Synology technical support team, please use the following form:

https://account.synology.com/support/support_form.php?lang=enu



2) To avoid putting users' DiskStation at risk, please don't paste links to any patches provided by our Support team as we will systematically remove them. Our Support team will provide the correct patch for your DiskStation model.
TheFriendlyCoach
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2017 8:37 am

Remote NAS Backup - TCP/IP configuration

Postby TheFriendlyCoach » Wed Nov 29, 2017 8:15 pm

I'm considering purchasing a second Synology NAS which should serve as remote backup for my home NAS. I would like to place the remote NAS (using Hyper Backup Vault) in my work office. However, there I have no idea of how the LAN is configured and I have no access to do e.g. router port forwarding.

So my question is: What are the TCP/IP requirements for the remote NAS running Hyper Backup Vault? Should it be accessible from the internet (e.g. using a DDNS and port forwarding) or is it the remote NAS running Hyper Backup Valut that initiates the TCP/IP traffic towards my local NAS (which indeed is accessible from the internet)?

Unfortunately I have not been able to find this info in the Synology Knowledge database.
One's mind, once stretched, never regains its original dimension / DS916+ 2x3TB WD red Raid 1 / DS216j 4TB WD red - remote backup
User avatar
eaz
Distinguished
Distinguished
Posts: 870
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 9:04 pm

Re: Remote NAS Backup - TCP/IP configuration

Postby eaz » Wed Nov 29, 2017 8:23 pm

Please do some searching, this topic has been answered a dozen times on the forum...
Please share if a reply was useful or how the issue was solved, it helps other DS users.

DS415+ (2*4TB HD raid1 + 2*480GB SSD raid1), DS212+ (2*WD red 2TB), previous DS411J, DS106
User avatar
HarryPotter
Honorary Moderator
Honorary Moderator
Posts: 19082
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Remote NAS Backup - TCP/IP configuration

Postby HarryPotter » Wed Nov 29, 2017 8:38 pm

TheFriendlyCoach wrote:I have not been able to find this info in the Synology Knowledge database.

No? https://www.synology.com/knowledgebase/ ... y_services
*Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!*

DS718+ / DSM 6.2-23511 / ST4000VN000-2AH166 / SA400S37120G SSD cache /16 GB RAM
DS415+ / DSM 6.2-23511

LMS 7.9.1-166, 2 Squeezebox 3 + Boom

APC Smart UPS SUA750i
TheFriendlyCoach
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2017 8:37 am

Re: Remote NAS Backup - TCP/IP configuration

Postby TheFriendlyCoach » Tue Jan 09, 2018 9:04 pm

You're so right,thanks. I should have found that. So, now I have configured a DS216j for remote backup. Works so smoothly.
One's mind, once stretched, never regains its original dimension / DS916+ 2x3TB WD red Raid 1 / DS216j 4TB WD red - remote backup
Kevgray69
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2018 11:42 am

Re: Remote NAS Backup - TCP/IP configuration

Postby Kevgray69 » Fri Feb 09, 2018 12:06 pm

hi, sorry if this has already been answered but i cannot seem to find it. we have 2 Synology DS218 systems. one at the local location and other offsite. i am trying to setup the hyper backup from one Synology to the other. might be stupid but i have copied the IP addresses listed in the information on one of the synologies to the hyper backup IP address and user names etc but it just will not connect. i'm not too sure what i am missing but it surely shouldn't be so difficult.
thanks
kev
User avatar
HarryPotter
Honorary Moderator
Honorary Moderator
Posts: 19082
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Remote NAS Backup - TCP/IP configuration

Postby HarryPotter » Fri Feb 09, 2018 7:35 pm

Did you install HyperVault on the destination server? And did you open port 6281?
*Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!*

DS718+ / DSM 6.2-23511 / ST4000VN000-2AH166 / SA400S37120G SSD cache /16 GB RAM
DS415+ / DSM 6.2-23511

LMS 7.9.1-166, 2 Squeezebox 3 + Boom

APC Smart UPS SUA750i
Kevgray69
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2018 11:42 am

Re: Remote NAS Backup - TCP/IP configuration

Postby Kevgray69 » Tue Feb 13, 2018 7:48 am

yes port number opened if i have done it in the right place that is? and vault installed, in fact i actually did it on both ends just incase it was a one way issue but still nothing

Return to “Backup/Restore for DiskStation to DiskStation/USB/eSATA/Off-site backups”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests