Shared Folder Sync: Server has two volumes.

Discuss backup and restore functions of the DiskStation with respect other DiskStations, USB/eSATA, network backup, or other rsync clients.
Forum rules
We've moved! Head over to Synology Community (community.synology.com) to meet up with our team and other Synology enthusiasts!
Nasconfused
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 5:52 am

Shared Folder Sync: Server has two volumes.

Unread post by Nasconfused » Fri Oct 20, 2017 10:51 am

I want to back up a DS1515+ to a 216Se using Shared Folder Sync. The data is 11Tb and the 216 has two drives an 8Tb and a 6Tb which I formatted as basic volumes 1 & 2 as the default SHR seems inherently more risky. The plan was to split the 1515's data into two parts (documents & images) which happen to fit the capacity of the newly created volumes, but when I came to set up the task I realised that there was no way to determine where the server will write the incoming folders as it just seems to see the 216 as a single destination. Can anyone tell me how this works - I don't want to waste several days trying it out if everything is going to get mixed up in some random way.

Also, Am I going to have to create a new shared folder on the 1515 as the image files are in a sub-folder? I see that in File Station the Actions menu offers a Share This Folder option when I select my images - is that going to make it usable as a source for the SFS on the 1515? I'm reluctant to just try these possibilities out as there's a lot of data and stopping a process sometimes leads to extreme weirdness and uncertainty.

User avatar
HarryPotter
Honorary Moderator
Honorary Moderator
Posts: 19674
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Shared Folder Sync: Server has two volumes.

Unread post by HarryPotter » Fri Oct 20, 2017 11:00 am

1) you can only sync shared folders, there is no way chosing subfolders
2) I suggest to create a RAID0 or JBOD on the DS216se, so you dont have to care about the destination volume and the sizes of your shares
3) if you dont want 2), as far as I remember the following workaround lets you change the destination volume:

- start syncing for a couple of MB, then cancel the sync
- on the destination, move the automatically created share to the 2nd volume (Shared folder - edit => change destination)
- continue the sync
*Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!*

DS718+ / DSM 6.2-23511 / ST4000VN000-2AH166 / SA400S37120G SSD cache /16 GB RAM
DS415+ / DSM 6.2-23511

LMS 7.9.1-166, 2 Squeezebox 3 + Boom

APC Smart UPS SUA750i

Nasconfused
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 5:52 am

Re: Shared Folder Sync: Server has two volumes.

Unread post by Nasconfused » Sun Oct 22, 2017 1:23 am

Thanks for the advice. I tried #3 but couldn't see an obvious way to move the share so have decided to do a single sync task with all the data and see what happens. Will post result for any who may be interested.

Nasconfused
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 5:52 am

Re: Shared Folder Sync: Server has two volumes.

Unread post by Nasconfused » Sun Nov 05, 2017 9:38 am

This was a bust. The shared folder sync filled up Volume 1 and then failed with an "Out Of Space" error. Vol 2 remained unwritten with 7Tb available. Three and a half days wasted. :(

User avatar
eaz
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 1158
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 9:04 pm

Re: Shared Folder Sync: Server has two volumes.

Unread post by eaz » Sun Nov 05, 2017 9:49 am

Would be good to follow harry potters advice to move toe share to your bigger drive.
A share can be easily moved to a volume with more space.
Go to confguration share settings and change its volume. It can take some time to complete the copy.
Please share if a reply was useful or how the issue was solved, it helps other DS users.

DS415+ (4TB HGST+ 4TB Seagate raid1 + 2*480GB SSD raid1), DS212+ (2*WD red 2TB), previous DS411J, DS106

Nasconfused
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 5:52 am

Re: Shared Folder Sync: Server has two volumes.

Unread post by Nasconfused » Sun Nov 05, 2017 11:26 am

Thanks for the speedy response.

I think maybe there is something fundamental here that I am missing. Right now the 216 has a 6Tb drive (so 5Tb+) full to the brim with some data from the 1515. All of the shared folders from the 1515 show up on volume 1 of the 216 but since there is still 11Tb or so to copy over it's clear that there are sub folders that are missing in the shares. Harry Potter (who I know is an expert) said I could move one or more of the shared folders by via edit>destination (I assume on the SFS 1515) but I don't have that choice as far as I can see. I doubt that the SFS task will pick up where it left off if I simply move one of the shared folders on the 216 and resume the sync, will it?

I know that formatting the 216 as JBOD, RAID 0 or presumably SHR will make this problem go away but at the risk of losing all the data should one of the drives fail which doesn't seem sensible to me.

I simply want to see disk 1 and disk 2 as separately addressable destinations and be able to back up to them in a way that lets the 216 be usable directly and without delay in case of emergency.
Last edited by Nasconfused on Sun Nov 05, 2017 11:50 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
HarryPotter
Honorary Moderator
Honorary Moderator
Posts: 19674
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Shared Folder Sync: Server has two volumes.

Unread post by HarryPotter » Sun Nov 05, 2017 11:48 am

Nasconfused wrote: The shared folder sync filled up Volume 1 and then failed with an "Out Of Space" error. Vol 2 remained unwritten with 7Tb available.
:?: What else did you expect?

I gave you options, follow them. Of course I meant to change the volume destination the 2bay NAS, wouldnt make sense otherwise... And yes, the sysnc will resume if you cange the volume.
*Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!*

DS718+ / DSM 6.2-23511 / ST4000VN000-2AH166 / SA400S37120G SSD cache /16 GB RAM
DS415+ / DSM 6.2-23511

LMS 7.9.1-166, 2 Squeezebox 3 + Boom

APC Smart UPS SUA750i

Nasconfused
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 5:52 am

Re: Shared Folder Sync: Server has two volumes.

Unread post by Nasconfused » Sun Nov 05, 2017 1:42 pm

Thanks Harry, I was confused.

What I expected was that there would be a option to change the destination on the 216 seeing as you wrote: "Shared folder - edit => change destination" which path doesn't exist. What you actually meant I now assume, is Shared Folder-edit=>Location which, while it makes sense, is not the same.

I am now moving one shared folder of 3.55 Tb from Vol 1 to Vol 2 and am slightly surprised at the transfer speed which is averaging about 40 MB/sec. Doesn't that seem rather slow? I was expecting to see about 65 - 70 MB/sec. Both the CPU and RAM are showing around 45 - 60% usage so I guess it is the drives.

samson08
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 1:28 am

Re: Shared Folder Sync: Server has two volumes.

Unread post by samson08 » Sat Nov 25, 2017 1:43 am

Hello,

I have tried this workaround but doesn't seem to work for me. I started the sync, waited a few minutes then cancelled it. I moved the newly created Shared Folder to the new volume. I went to continue the sync, but the sync task failed. I am using the latest DSM version.

The goal is to sync 4 x 4TB volumes (each on separate disks) to a mirrored DiskStation with the same 4 x 4TB disks. DSM trying to squeeze all 4 volumes onto only Volume 1 on a single disk is clearly not going to work, so I am quite surprised that this limitation exists.

Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks.

samson08
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 1:28 am

Re: Shared Folder Sync: Server has two volumes.

Unread post by samson08 » Sat Nov 25, 2017 1:51 pm

OK, I figured it out. Turns out that when I moved the folder to a new volume it removed the access permissions. Not sure why it did this, as all folders/volumes on my NASs have same access rights. But in any case, adding read/write access again manually seems to have fixed the issue.

Locked

Return to “Backup/Restore for DiskStation to DiskStation/USB/eSATA/Off-site backups”