Subtitles (srt) on DSM-520 not working

Questions regarding using our product with a UPnP Digital Media Adaptor may be placed here
Forum rules
1) This is a user forum for Synology users to share experience/help out each other: if you need direct assistance from the Synology technical support team, please use the following form:

https://account.synology.com/support/support_form.php?lang=enu



2) To avoid putting users' DiskStation at risk, please don't paste links to any patches provided by our Support team as we will systematically remove them. Our Support team will provide the correct patch for your DiskStation model.
ccedard
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 11:04 pm

French Subtitles

Postby ccedard » Tue Jan 22, 2008 11:16 pm

I have the same problem with French subtitles, the SRT subtitles are systmaticaly hide when a special character is in the sentence.

I have no news of D-Link support team is anybody have news ?

DSM 520 and DS 106e (SAMSUNG SP2504C)
User avatar
aarfing
Versed
Versed
Posts: 208
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 10:35 am
Location: Denmark

Re: Subtitles (srt) on DSM-520 not working

Postby aarfing » Tue Mar 18, 2008 11:53 am

No news, but I know that Synology recieved a DSM-520 in July 2007, with the promise that they would begin testing a short time thereafter :(

DS216+ running Latest [2 x 8TB WDC WD80EFZX-68UW8N0] (RAID 1 - Btrfs)
DS410 running Latest [4 x 2TB RE4-GP WD2002FYPS] (RAID 5)
CS407 - retired
DS106e - retired
Gilles_
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 9:57 pm

Re: Subtitles (srt) on DSM-520 not working

Postby Gilles_ » Sun Apr 20, 2008 10:05 pm

If you really want to use your DSM-520 with movie and subtitles, you can use mediatomb. It's very easy to install and with the following lines in your config.xml :

<manufacturerURL>http://www.redsonic.com</manufacturerURL>
<modelNumber>105</modelNumber>

in the server config part, it works like a charm. The documentation of Mediatomb tells you to use redsonic.com without the "http://www" but this won't work. You need to use the exact same line.

And if you need to support special character, you just need to save you *.srt file in UTF-8. Edit it with notepad, "Save as ..." and change the encoding to UTF-8. It took me a week-end to find this out but now it works, and I'm really happy ;-)

DSM-520 + Mediatomb on a DS107 = the perfect match.

Gilles.
CoolRat
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 10:49 pm

Re: Subtitles (srt) on DSM-520 not working

Postby CoolRat » Fri May 16, 2008 11:54 pm

Nice to hear there is a option out there to help with the subtitle problem. However Im not that good at linux, is it possible that you can make a guide on howto install Mediatomb.

Return to “Streaming Multimedia Server”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest