Running Windows on 1515+

This room is for the discussion of how the Synology DiskStation can meet the storage needs for Virtual HyperVisors.
Forum rules
1) This is a user forum for Synology users to share experience/help out each other: if you need direct assistance from the Synology technical support team, please use the following form:

https://account.synology.com/support/su ... p?lang=enu



2) To avoid putting users' DiskStation at risk, please don't paste links to any patches provided by our Support team as we will systematically remove them. Our Support team will provide the correct patch for your DiskStation model.
custa1200
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue May 10, 2016 2:42 pm

Running Windows on 1515+

Unread post by custa1200 » Fri Apr 14, 2017 9:38 am

Is there any current supported way to run a Windows VM on a 1515+. I am wanting to run an instance of iTunes on the Diskstation so I can also access movies bought from iTunes, which the current iTunes server does not provide due to DRM.

sincarne
Virtuoso
Virtuoso
Posts: 1313
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 9:57 pm

Re: Running Windows on 1515+

Unread post by sincarne » Fri Apr 14, 2017 4:53 pm

win virtualization no is support. no hypervisor on NAS. have 2 use unsupported like virtualbox

User avatar
Rusty1281
Proficient
Proficient
Posts: 2576
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 10:51 pm

Re: Running Windows on 1515+

Unread post by Rusty1281 » Fri Apr 14, 2017 5:02 pm

Virtaul machine manager is still in the works and it should be out soon, but Syno has not announced it when. It will support Win virtualization and it will be a paid (license) model. Again, no pricing model as of yet
Synology DS918+ (4x4TB WD RED - RAID 5 with 2x250GB 960EVO NVMe) | Synology DS412+ (4x3TB WD RED - RAID 5) | RT1900AC

sawwee
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 2:11 am

Re: Running Windows on 1515+

Unread post by sawwee » Fri Apr 14, 2017 6:19 pm

There is a 3rd party Virtualbox application available here: http://spk.diablos-netzwerk.de/?channel ... virtualbox With it Windows VMs are running smoothly on my DS1515+ (DSM 6.1)

Post Reply

Return to “Virtual HyperVisors (VMWare/ESXi)”