(Newbie) DS414 keeps disconnecting

Topics including remote access and management can go here, including port forwarding, telnet, ssh, and advanced network settings.
Forum rules
1) This is a user forum for Synology users to share experience/help out each other: if you need direct assistance from the Synology technical support team, please use the following form:

https://account.synology.com/support/support_form.php?lang=enu

2) To avoid putting users' DiskStation at risk, please don't paste links to any patches provided by our Support team as we will systematically remove them. Our Support team will provide the correct patch for your DiskStation model.
headshotzx
I'm New!
I'm New!

(Newbie) DS414 keeps disconnecting

Postby headshotzx » Mon Jan 01, 2018 7:38 pm

Hey folks, Happy New Year!

New guy here with a problem that I've had since I purchased this unit from... when the 414 was still in stores. I'm just a newbie content creator so I'm not the most well-versed with networking, so help me out!

My problem is that the NAS completely blocks off access from users at times when it's under specifically high loads, such as when I transfer my content files or when I have multiple torrents happening. The first sign of this is when my Windows Explorer transfer prompts me that there's an error and the network location cannot be found / accessed. I'll open My Computer and realise that my mapped drives are disconnected. Pinging my server won't work, and when I head into my router devices list I can see that the NAS has dropped off.