setting up M2 ssd cache on DS1618+

IF your questions pertains to using the file server performance, transfer issues, jumbo frames tuning, post it here.
Forum rules
We've moved! Head over to Synology Community (community.synology.com) to meet up with our team and other Synology enthusiasts!
jackw
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 1:49 am
Location: Mesquite, Texas

setting up M2 ssd cache on DS1618+

Unread post by jackw » Wed Sep 12, 2018 2:07 am

Even tho reading through the forum entries haven't convinced me that we're going to gain that much by adding cache to the NAS, we went ahead and maxed out the RAM on it to 32gb, purchased a Synology M2 card and two 1tb WD Blue SATA cards to go on it. Everything seemed to go well with the exception that I seem to be able to only set up caching for one volume.

I will admit that I've missed things in the DSM control panel before, so I may very well be asking a question about something I've overlooked this time.

Thanks,
jack
One programmer’s philosophy… “I live my life the way I type, fast, with a lot of mistakes.”

DS411+II (4x4tb)
DS1618+ (12tb, 12tb, 4tb, 4tb, 12tb, 12tb / 32gb ram / 2tb of [apparently useless] cache)

sincarne
Guru
Guru
Posts: 1578
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 9:57 pm

Re: setting up M2 ssd cache on DS1618+

Unread post by sincarne » Wed Sep 12, 2018 10:15 pm

yes cache only for one volume

jackw
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 1:49 am
Location: Mesquite, Texas

Re: setting up M2 ssd cache on DS1618+

Unread post by jackw » Wed Sep 12, 2018 10:56 pm

So what is the thinking behind this?? I'm sure we're not the only site that has split our DiskStations into multiple volumes for security, performance, whatever. To limit ssd disk caching just to one volume seems a bit "odd", especially considering how inexpensive it is to do.
One programmer’s philosophy… “I live my life the way I type, fast, with a lot of mistakes.”

DS411+II (4x4tb)
DS1618+ (12tb, 12tb, 4tb, 4tb, 12tb, 12tb / 32gb ram / 2tb of [apparently useless] cache)

sincarne
Guru
Guru
Posts: 1578
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 9:57 pm

Re: setting up M2 ssd cache on DS1618+

Unread post by sincarne » Thu Sep 13, 2018 1:17 am

jackw wrote:
Wed Sep 12, 2018 10:56 pm
So what is the thinking behind this?? I'm sure we're not the only site that has split our DiskStations into multiple volumes for security, performance, whatever. To limit ssd disk caching just to one volume seems a bit "odd", especially considering how inexpensive it is to do.
ask synology no one here have answer... this how it always work

jackw
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 1:49 am
Location: Mesquite, Texas

Re: setting up M2 ssd cache on DS1618+

Unread post by jackw » Thu Sep 13, 2018 2:06 am

Thank you for the reply. It really seems that adding the SSD cache isn't going to improve performance all that much. After discussions this afternoon, we've decided to turn those two 1TB "drives" into a 1TB RAID 1 volume and put the receptionist's tools on it since, i hope, that should be really fast.
One programmer’s philosophy… “I live my life the way I type, fast, with a lot of mistakes.”

DS411+II (4x4tb)
DS1618+ (12tb, 12tb, 4tb, 4tb, 12tb, 12tb / 32gb ram / 2tb of [apparently useless] cache)

Locked

Return to “File Server Performance”