Speedtest - For the life of me!

IF your questions pertains to using the file server performance, transfer issues, jumbo frames tuning, post it here.
Forum rules
1) This is a user forum for Synology users to share experience/help out each other: if you need direct assistance from the Synology technical support team, please use the following form and check this FAQ:
https://myds.synology.com/support/suppo ... p?lang=enu
https://www.synology.com/en-global/know ... se/faq/586
2) To avoid putting users' DiskStation at risk, please don't paste links to any patches provided by our Support team as we will systematically remove them. Our Support team will provide the correct patch for your DiskStation model.

Do you want an easy DSM speedtest for Synology NAS <--> Internet?

Nope
7
37%
Yep
12
63%
 
Total votes: 19
SaintNick
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 1:36 am

Speedtest - For the life of me!

Postby SaintNick » Tue Apr 25, 2017 8:21 pm

For the life of me I cannot understand why there is no official, or even unofficial, internet speedtest for Synology DSM.

You know, just like the Ookla Speedtest.net on a desktop. I even have it as add-on for Kodi on my Vero 4K!

Does no-one here have a need to measure and know the true and max connectivity from their NAS to the Internet?

There are obscure unsupported ssh command-line attempts, but really! Come on! Synology? Someone?
User avatar
Rusty1281
Seeker
Seeker
Posts: 1705
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 10:51 pm

Re: Speedtest - For the life of me!

Postby Rusty1281 » Tue Apr 25, 2017 8:40 pm

http://www.speedtest.net/mini you can get it running in matter of minutes
Synology DS412+ (4x3TB WD red - RAID 5) | Synology DS211j (2x2TB WD green - RAID1) | RT1900AC
SaintNick
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 1:36 am

Re: Speedtest - For the life of me!

Postby SaintNick » Tue Apr 25, 2017 9:11 pm

Rusty1281 wrote:http://www.speedtest.net/mini you can get it running in matter of minutes


You're a bit of a dumbo IMHO. That does NOT measure the throughput form your Synology NAS to the Internet. It hosts a web thingy on your NAS that will measure the throughput from your Synology CLIENT (!!) to the Internet.

Try again.
User avatar
Rusty1281
Seeker
Seeker
Posts: 1705
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 10:51 pm

Re: Speedtest - For the life of me!

Postby Rusty1281 » Wed Apr 26, 2017 7:20 am

True that. My bad. Have no need considering I used one line commands for this, but now I have more then enough info from my router and its graphs to know the real time speed.

Maybe someone else will give a better info that fits your needs.
Synology DS412+ (4x3TB WD red - RAID 5) | Synology DS211j (2x2TB WD green - RAID1) | RT1900AC
drabisan
Virtuoso
Virtuoso
Posts: 1370
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2010 12:04 pm

Re: Speedtest - For the life of me!

Postby drabisan » Wed Apr 26, 2017 4:30 pm

Most DS units don't have good enough CPU for a speedy HTTP file transfer, the one used by Speedtest.
iperf may be a better solution, but requires a remote host running iperf.

Just asking - why don't you use a laptop/pc to measure your internet speed? And the same machine to measure the file transfer speed your DS is able to deliver?
I can't see a use case where DS would match at measuring speed to internet than a laptop with an I3 CPU or higher.
User avatar
PaulS
Enlightened
Enlightened
Posts: 408
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 1:52 pm

Re: Speedtest - For the life of me!

Postby PaulS » Thu Apr 27, 2017 4:27 am

SaintNick wrote:You're a bit of a dumbo IMHO. That does NOT measure the throughput form your Synology NAS to the Internet.

What makes you think the NAS has any different throughput than anything else connecting to your ISP from your cable modem or whatever device you use for Internet connectivity?
SaintNick wrote:Try again.

Oh wait -Santa's the real dumb arse here! Whodathunkit? :roll:

Opnions. What a concept. :lol:
level380
Seasoned
Seasoned
Posts: 588
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 12:31 am

Re: Speedtest - For the life of me!

Postby level380 » Thu May 11, 2017 4:13 am

SaintNick wrote:For the life of me I cannot understand why there is no official, or even unofficial, internet speedtest for Synology DSM


There is very little need for such a application... Most peoples NAS <-> Internet speeds will be the same as their desktop <-> internet speeds.
level380
Seasoned
Seasoned
Posts: 588
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 12:31 am

Re: Speedtest - For the life of me!

Postby level380 » Sat May 13, 2017 12:20 am

Was just playing with http://www.domotz.com/ that has packages for Synology.

This will do your NAS <-> Internet speed test you require.

https://portal.domotz.com/portal/hardwa ... s/synology
SaintNick
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 1:36 am

Re: Speedtest - For the life of me!

Postby SaintNick » Sun May 28, 2017 5:46 pm

level380 wrote:Was just playing with http://www.domotz.com/ that has packages for Synology.

This will do your NAS <-> Internet speed test you require.

https://portal.domotz.com/portal/hardwa ... s/synology


Thank you!
I checked it out, and although it seems a very invasive app that you need to trust, it does indeed include bandwidth speedtests. I'll let you know on this thread how it does.
Thanks again for the only helpful and spot-on reply!
asaweli
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 9:59 am

Re: Speedtest - For the life of me!

Postby asaweli » Sun Sep 24, 2017 8:46 am

SaintNick wrote:
level380 wrote:Was just playing with http://www.domotz.com/ that has packages for Synology.

This will do your NAS <-> Internet speed test you require.

https://portal.domotz.com/portal/hardwa ... s/synology


Thank you!
I checked it out, and although it seems a very invasive app that you need to trust, it does indeed include bandwidth speedtests. I'll let you know on this thread how it does.
Thanks again for the only helpful and spot-on reply!



Hi SaintNick. I was also looking into getting a speedtest today for my sinology NAS. Did you end up using this and is it any good? did you ever find a better alternative that is less invasive?
Fallen99
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2017 5:01 pm

Re: Speedtest - For the life of me!

Postby Fallen99 » Fri Nov 10, 2017 9:16 pm

Hey - likewise, would like to see if there has been any update on this.

Really surprised with all the multitude of unique packages, that not one method has been set up to actually speed test the connection.

I have a gigabit internet, and it's wired with Cat6 cable. It would be nice to know if I'm actually getting anything close to it. My transfer speeds via at least 1 packaged add-on tell me otherwise.
AlasBabylon
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 12:18 am

Re: Speedtest - For the life of me!

Postby AlasBabylon » Wed Nov 15, 2017 12:32 am

I agree... its bizarre that this simple feature isnt included already. There are posts asking about this that go back 5 years and more.

The NAS *should* have the same Internet speeds as a laptop/computer... but I am beginning to suspect that my DS1517 doesn't. Its hard to know for sure.. because WE CANT TEST IT!
polanat
Seasoned
Seasoned
Posts: 558
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 9:09 am

Re: Speedtest - For the life of me!

Postby polanat » Wed Nov 15, 2017 4:20 am

Can anyone share your thoughts why this application is so badly needed to check the real Internet speed. Let me explain my point a little bit. Basically, there are 2 basis combinations:

1. Your NAS is at home and you are at home - here Speedtest client running on your PC/Laptop just do the Internet speed measuring job,
2. Your NAS is at home but you are NOT at home - here:
2.1 you still can use your PC via RDP,
2.2 you cannot use your Laptop because it is (together with you) is not at home and there are no desktops at home running 24x7,

Basically, only 2.2 case is somehow relevant, by why on earth you have to measure you home Internet speed when you are not at home??? Because your wife/husband/kids/grandparents are fighting with each other for the bloody Internet bandwidth, which is so small (Really???) that requires your personal attention when you are NOT at home??? Something is really strange here ...

PS I myself do use Speedtest.exe as win-client application on my laptop only because my last mile connection is still ADSL-based. However in a month I will have a PON connection and Speedtest.exe will become useless since both uplink and downlink speed will be unchangeable due to fibre optical technology. This is one more argument to question why you guys so badly need Speedtest even on Synology NAS :wink:
DS415+ [5.2-5967 Update 3 + 4xST3000VN000] & DS112 [DSM 6.1.2-15132 + WD40EFRX+ Ext1 WDBEMM0010BBK-U3] / Transmission 2.84-10 / Transmission Remote GUI 5.0.1
Samsung SMART TV 3D FullHD UE40ES6307 / Samsung UE32H4000 + iconBIT Toucan Duo Plus mk2 / iconBIT NetTAB THOR ZX (NT-0907S)
TP-LINK TD-W8961ND +2TL-ANT2408CL + TL-SG1008D / UPS Powercom WOW-500U
nixjps
Novice
Novice
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2017 1:39 pm

Re: Speedtest - For the life of me!

Postby nixjps » Wed Nov 15, 2017 12:28 pm

BTW,
if one is ok with using shell command line. An easy path is to use Matt Martz python script available on GitHub.
Assuming you have a DSM version with a working python
Quick and dirty path:
    ssh to your disk station:

Code: Select all

# cd to your scripts favorite directory 
$ wget https://raw.githubusercontent.com/sivel/speedtest-cli/master/speedtest.py
$ chmod 0550 speedtest.py

You have now a script to measure throughput from your DS to speedtest.net servers...
"Standard" path - Assuming git and python's setuptools are installed on your DSM:
    ssh to your disk station:

Code: Select all

# cd to your favorite source tree
$ git clone https://github.com/sivel/speedtest-cli.git
$ sudo python speedtest-cli/setup.py install


Code: Select all

admin@h:~/bin$ ./speedtest.py --help
usage: speedtest.py [-h] [--no-download] [--no-upload] [--bytes] [--share]
                    [--simple] [--csv] [--csv-delimiter CSV_DELIMITER]
                    [--csv-header] [--json] [--list] [--server SERVER]
                    [--mini MINI] [--source SOURCE] [--timeout TIMEOUT]
                    [--secure] [--no-pre-allocate] [--version]

Command line interface for testing internet bandwidth using speedtest.net.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
https://github.com/sivel/speedtest-cli

optional arguments:
  -h, --help            show this help message and exit
  --no-download         Do not perform download test
  --no-upload           Do not perform upload test
  --bytes               Display values in bytes instead of bits. Does not
                        affect the image generated by --share, nor output from
                        --json or --csv
  --share               Generate and provide a URL to the speedtest.net share
                        results image, not displayed with --csv
  --simple              Suppress verbose output, only show basic information
  --csv                 Suppress verbose output, only show basic information
                        in CSV format. Speeds listed in bit/s and not affected
                        by --bytes
  --csv-delimiter CSV_DELIMITER
                        Single character delimiter to use in CSV output.
                        Default ","
  --csv-header          Print CSV headers
  --json                Suppress verbose output, only show basic information
                        in JSON format. Speeds listed in bit/s and not
                        affected by --bytes
  --list                Display a list of speedtest.net servers sorted by
                        distance
  --server SERVER       Specify a server ID to test against
  --mini MINI           URL of the Speedtest Mini server
  --source SOURCE       Source IP address to bind to
  --timeout TIMEOUT     HTTP timeout in seconds. Default 10
  --secure              Use HTTPS instead of HTTP when communicating with
                        speedtest.net operated servers
  --no-pre-allocate     Do not pre allocate upload data. Pre allocation is
                        enabled by default to improve upload performance. To
                        support systems with insufficient memory, use this
                        option to avoid a MemoryError
  --version             Show the version number and exit

rgds,
DS916+ (8G) - DSM 6.1.3-15152u4 - ST4000DM000-1F2168 x 3 - 1 Disk Group SHR - 2 volumes - Home Usage
DS216Play - DSM 6.1.3-15152u4 - ST4000DM000-1F2168 x 2 - Basic Disks - 2 Volumes - Off site backup of DS916+ and local browsing of Photos, Musics and Videos
DS916 and DS216Play MAN link (1Gb FFTH same ISP).
DS916 S2S -> DS216Play, HyperBackup of DS916 config & critical data to DS216Play. HyperBackup of DS216Play configuration and local data to DS916

Return to “File Server Performance”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests