Slow Network Speed, DSM Locks Up

IF your questions pertains to using the file server performance, transfer issues, jumbo frames tuning, post it here.
Forum rules
1) This is a user forum for Synology users to share experience/help out each other: if you need direct assistance from the Synology technical support team, please use the following form and check this FAQ:
https://myds.synology.com/support/suppo ... p?lang=enu
https://www.synology.com/en-global/know ... se/faq/586
2) To avoid putting users' DiskStation at risk, please don't paste links to any patches provided by our Support team as we will systematically remove them. Our Support team will provide the correct patch for your DiskStation model.
ulua
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2017 10:50 am

Re: Slow Network Speed, DSM Locks Up

Postby ulua » Tue Sep 12, 2017 4:53 am

eaz wrote:A 4 s reset would clear most network settings: you have to redo these using synology assistant. Your data is safe.
Redo the smb settings (enble smb3, the fixed ip number, and other essentials you did) do not touch jumbo frames (leave default at 1500).
If your synology network settings are default and the issue persists, the issue is not a synology network issue, you should look elsewhere in the network. I presume your drives are healthy, and there are no other jobs running when you perfom the test (backups, web servers, cloud stations, cloud sync, etc).

Check in your router the same settings, 1500 for packet size, and the same in the pc network card settings.
Redo your speed test without the antivirus.


Aloha eaz,

I performed the 4 s reset but i am still getting the same slow download speed, I use firefox
so I performed the same test using IE and am getting much better speeds, but still not close to what it should be, when I downloaded that same 15gig file through IE I was averaging about 15 MB/s.
I checked my router and it is set to 1500 for packet size, my NIC card is set the same as well. I also tried the download with malwarebytes and nortons disabled with no luck

file transfer through SMB is at around 100 MB/s

Thanks,
ulua
nixjps
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2017 1:39 pm

Re: Slow Network Speed, DSM Locks Up

Postby nixjps » Tue Sep 12, 2017 12:09 pm

ulua wrote:[...]
Aloha nixjps,


Aloha Ulua,

Aloha also reminds me a network protocol we have used as ground to design our own stack when I worked for a company who needed to interconnect TI minicomputers to i8086 based PCs ;-O.

ulua wrote:[...]
how do I change to dev mode in IE?
[...]
IE11: Tools/Developer tools (or F12).
Chrome: More tools/Developer Tools. (or Ctrl-Shift-I).
I guess that for your tests you are using http not https.
You may also want to install fiddler on one of your PC. This is a good tool to identify performances issues http://www.telerik.com/fiddler.
Rgds,
DS916+ (8G) - DSM 6.1.3-15152u4 - ST4000DM000-1F2168 x 3 - 1 Disk Group SHR - 2 volumes - Home Usage
DS216Play - DSM 6.1.3-15152u4 - ST4000DM000-1F2168 x 2 - Basic Disks - 2 Volumes - Off site backup of DS916+ and local browsing of Photos/Music and Video
DS916 and DS216Play MAN link (1Gb FFTH same ISP).
DS916 S2S -> DS216Play, HyperBackup of DS916+ config & critical data to DS216Play. HyperBackup of DS216Play configuration and local data to DS916+
ulua
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2017 10:50 am

Re: Slow Network Speed, DSM Locks Up

Postby ulua » Wed Sep 13, 2017 1:52 am

nixjps wrote:
ulua wrote:[...]
Aloha nixjps,


Aloha Ulua,

Aloha also reminds me a network protocol we have used as ground to design our own stack when I worked for a company who needed to interconnect TI minicomputers to i8086 based PCs ;-O.

ulua wrote:[...]
how do I change to dev mode in IE?
[...]
IE11: Tools/Developer tools (or F12).
Chrome: More tools/Developer Tools. (or Ctrl-Shift-I).
I guess that for your tests you are using http not https.
You may also want to install fiddler on one of your PC. This is a good tool to identify performances issues http://www.telerik.com/fiddler.
Rgds,


Aloha nixips,
How do I check if i'm using http or https?
Is it the setting in control panel, network, dsm settings?
if so this is how it's set up, I believe it's basic settings as I did not change anything
DSM Ports: HTTP: 5000
HTTPS: 5001
Automatically redirect HTP connections to HTTPS (Web Station and Photo Station excluded) you can import certificated on the Certificate page. - not selected
Enable HTTP/2, HTTP/2 speed up web page loading when using encrypted connections - not selected
Customize maximum concurrent HTTP connections - No selected
Enable the "Server" header in HTTP responses custom "server" header: selected

Thanks,
ulua
ulua
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2017 10:50 am

Re: Slow Network Speed, DSM Locks Up

Postby ulua » Thu Sep 14, 2017 2:23 am

Hey all,

So I opened a tkt with Synology Support, and they are asking me to send them the debug.dat file.
I googled this file to see if it contains sensitive info and found that it does. So now I'm not sure if I want to send it. any suggestions on what I should do or what can be done to remove the sensitive info?

Thanks,
ulua
ulua
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2017 10:50 am

Re: Slow Network Speed, DSM Locks Up

Postby ulua » Fri Sep 15, 2017 7:18 am

Also I have my NAS set to static IP from my router
Can this cause any speed issue?

Thanks
Ulua
nixjps
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2017 1:39 pm

Re: Slow Network Speed, DSM Locks Up

Postby nixjps » Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:49 am

ulua wrote:Hey all,

So I opened a tkt with Synology Support, and they are asking me to send them the debug.dat file.
I googled this file to see if it contains sensitive info and found that it does. So now I'm not sure if I want to send it. any suggestions on what I should do or what can be done to remove the sensitive info?

Thanks,
ulua

It all depends on what you classify as "sensitive". it doesn't contain any of you databases or data stored in your volumes.
It contains information on your configuration like user names and encrypted passwd, web server configuration, firewall rules, etc...

Well.... I believe we should trust Synology support to have proper NDA in place.
I think we shouldn't be too paranoid, after all these information aren't so sensitive.... (in my mind)
If you want expert support from technicians, engineers or experts, obviously we need to provide them with means to do it. Configuration being one of these means.

Rgds,
DS916+ (8G) - DSM 6.1.3-15152u4 - ST4000DM000-1F2168 x 3 - 1 Disk Group SHR - 2 volumes - Home Usage
DS216Play - DSM 6.1.3-15152u4 - ST4000DM000-1F2168 x 2 - Basic Disks - 2 Volumes - Off site backup of DS916+ and local browsing of Photos/Music and Video
DS916 and DS216Play MAN link (1Gb FFTH same ISP).
DS916 S2S -> DS216Play, HyperBackup of DS916+ config & critical data to DS216Play. HyperBackup of DS216Play configuration and local data to DS916+
nixjps
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2017 1:39 pm

Re: Slow Network Speed, DSM Locks Up

Postby nixjps » Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:58 am

Aloha ulua,

ulua wrote:[...]
How do I check if i'm using http or https?
Is it the setting in control panel, network, dsm settings?
if so this is how it's set up, I believe it's basic settings as I did not change anything
DSM Ports: HTTP: 5000
HTTPS: 5001
Automatically redirect HTP connections to HTTPS (Web Station and Photo Station excluded) you can import certificated on the Certificate page. - not selected
Enable HTTP/2, HTTP/2 speed up web page loading when using encrypted connections - not selected
Customize maximum concurrent HTTP connections - No selected
Enable the "Server" header in HTTP responses custom "server" header: selected
[...]

These settings shows that you do not force dsm to redirect http calls to https...
Hence, whether you use or not https depends on how your "call" File Station. (http or htps prefix).
Also how do you launch your dsm web interface? with full qualified domain name? with IP? etc...

nixjps wrote:
ulua wrote:Hey all,

So I opened a tkt with Synology Support, and they are asking me to send them the debug.dat file.
I googled this file to see if it contains sensitive info and found that it does. So now I'm not sure if I want to send it. any suggestions on what I should do or what can be done to remove the sensitive info?

Thanks,
ulua

It all depends on what you classify as "sensitive". it doesn't contain any of you databases or data stored in your volumes.
It contains information on your configuration like user names and encrypted passwd, web server configuration, firewall rules, etc...

Well.... I believe we should trust Synology support to have proper NDA in place.
I think we shouldn't be too paranoid, after all these information aren't so sensitive.... (in my mind)
If you want expert support from technicians, engineers or experts, obviously we need to provide them with means to do it. Configuration being one of these means.

Rgds,
DS916+ (8G) - DSM 6.1.3-15152u4 - ST4000DM000-1F2168 x 3 - 1 Disk Group SHR - 2 volumes - Home Usage
DS216Play - DSM 6.1.3-15152u4 - ST4000DM000-1F2168 x 2 - Basic Disks - 2 Volumes - Off site backup of DS916+ and local browsing of Photos/Music and Video
DS916 and DS216Play MAN link (1Gb FFTH same ISP).
DS916 S2S -> DS216Play, HyperBackup of DS916+ config & critical data to DS216Play. HyperBackup of DS216Play configuration and local data to DS916+
ulua
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2017 10:50 am

Re: Slow Network Speed, DSM Locks Up

Postby ulua » Sat Sep 16, 2017 5:59 am

nixjps wrote:Aloha ulua,

ulua wrote:[...]
How do I check if i'm using http or https?
Is it the setting in control panel, network, dsm settings?
if so this is how it's set up, I believe it's basic settings as I did not change anything
DSM Ports: HTTP: 5000
HTTPS: 5001
Automatically redirect HTP connections to HTTPS (Web Station and Photo Station excluded) you can import certificated on the Certificate page. - not selected
Enable HTTP/2, HTTP/2 speed up web page loading when using encrypted connections - not selected
Customize maximum concurrent HTTP connections - No selected
Enable the "Server" header in HTTP responses custom "server" header: selected
[...]

These settings shows that you do not force dsm to redirect http calls to https...
Hence, whether you use or not https depends on how your "call" File Station. (http or htps prefix).
Also how do you launch your dsm web interface? with full qualified domain name? with IP? etc...

nixjps wrote:
ulua wrote:Hey all,

So I opened a tkt with Synology Support, and they are asking me to send them the debug.dat file.
I googled this file to see if it contains sensitive info and found that it does. So now I'm not sure if I want to send it. any suggestions on what I should do or what can be done to remove the sensitive info?

Thanks,
ulua

It all depends on what you classify as "sensitive". it doesn't contain any of you databases or data stored in your volumes.
It contains information on your configuration like user names and encrypted passwd, web server configuration, firewall rules, etc...

Well.... I believe we should trust Synology support to have proper NDA in place.
I think we shouldn't be too paranoid, after all these information aren't so sensitive.... (in my mind)
If you want expert support from technicians, engineers or experts, obviously we need to provide them with means to do it. Configuration being one of these means.

Rgds,


Aloha nixjps,
Thank for responding to my question about the logs, I just wanted to be sure before I sent them off, seen a lot of paranoid posts about this when I googled it and got me all
paranoid LOL

As for how I launch my DSM I use quickconnect.to/XXXXX
out of network i use https://quickconnect.to/xxxxxx

when i'm logging from inside my network is it better to use the ip address instead?

Also do I need to setup EZ internet?

Thanks,
ulua
mervincm
Versed
Versed
Posts: 205
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 6:08 am

Re: Slow Network Speed, DSM Locks Up

Postby mervincm » Sun Sep 17, 2017 2:09 am

quick connect is designed for external access only. I access mine by name, using a domain name I registered, and a letsencrypt cert, but IP address works as well.

PS my speeds are not typical, as I am using the experimental multichannel SMB hack, but this is what I see on my 1815+

DS is responsive the whole time these tests were happening

DS>PC
file copy speed for a Large MKV accessed via Win 10 SMB3
425-440 MB / sec

file copy speed for a DS>PC via syno desktop using local ip
105-115 MB / sec

file copy speed for a DS>PC via syno desktop using quicconnect
1.5 - 2 MB / sec
confirming on my firewall, I saw that the upload on my ISP link was completely maxed out at 15 mbps

you can see that using the external quick connect caused all your transfers to go out your Internet link then back in,
It totally kills your speeds
1815+ (factory patched board) 4GB 5x6TB WD RED
mervincm
Versed
Versed
Posts: 205
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 6:08 am

Re: Slow Network Speed, DSM Locks Up

Postby mervincm » Sun Sep 17, 2017 2:26 am

sorry for the split post
some things to remember

1) when you are on your internal network, do not use quick connect in your browser or apps etc. just use access your DS by its ip address or its local server name.
2) you can use the file station if you want to move to from your DS (again as long as you didnt connect using quicconnect) and get great speeds (100+ MB / sec)
3) SMB is the fastest and easiest local way to move files around, especially on a windows 8 or higher PC (SMB3 support)
4) quick connect is handy when away from home, but don't expect performance , as internet speeds are MUCH smaller typically than local speeds.
1815+ (factory patched board) 4GB 5x6TB WD RED
ulua
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2017 10:50 am

Re: Slow Network Speed, DSM Locks Up

Postby ulua » Sun Sep 17, 2017 3:24 am

mervincm wrote:quick connect is designed for external access only. I access mine by name, using a domain name I registered, and a letsencrypt cert, but IP address works as well.

PS my speeds are not typical, as I am using the experimental multichannel SMB hack, but this is what I see on my 1815+

DS is responsive the whole time these tests were happening

DS>PC
file copy speed for a Large MKV accessed via Win 10 SMB3
425-440 MB / sec

file copy speed for a DS>PC via syno desktop using local ip
105-115 MB / sec

file copy speed for a DS>PC via syno desktop using quicconnect
1.5 - 2 MB / sec
confirming on my firewall, I saw that the upload on my ISP link was completely maxed out at 15 mbps

you can see that using the external quick connect caused all your transfers to go out your Internet link then back in,
It totally kills your speeds



Unread postby mervincm » Sat Sep 16, 2017 3:26 pm
sorry for the split post
some things to remember

1) when you are on your internal network, do not use quick connect in your browser or apps etc. just use access your DS by its ip address or its local server name.
2) you can use the file station if you want to move to from your DS (again as long as you didnt connect using quicconnect) and get great speeds (100+ MB / sec)
3) SMB is the fastest and easiest local way to move files around, especially on a windows 8 or higher PC (SMB3 support)
4) quick connect is handy when away from home, but don't expect performance , as internet speeds are MUCH smaller typically than local speeds.


Aloha mervincm,
Thanks again for your reply, below are my speed test utilizing SMB, IE with DSM IP, Firefox with DSM IP., I used the DSM monitoring software to gauge my speeds.
All utilizing same 15G MKV file.

SMB
NAS -> PC
Up - 143 MB/S
Down - 1.1 MB/S

PC -> NAS
Up - 543 KB/S
Down - 116 MB/S

IE connecting through my IP 192.xxx.xxx.xxx
File Station -> PC
Up - 117 MB/S
Down - 3 MB?S

PC -> File Station
Up - 50 KB/S
Down - 13 MB/S

FireFox connecting through my IP 192.xxx.xxx.xxx
File station -> PC
Up - 114 MB/S
Down - 642 KB/S

PC -> File Station
Up - 52 KB/S - This is at the start
Down 12.5 MB/S - This is at the start

I am about 21% done and the new speed is (Also DS starts to lag big time)
Up -> 9 KB/S
Down -> 2.6 MB/S

So Looks like Firefox is part of my issue, IE seems a lot more stable, but I don't think i'm still getting what i'm supposed to be getting speed wise.
When using quickconnet and ip on IE the speeds are the same.

also you mentions you use
I access mine by name, using a domain name I registered, and a letsencrypt cert
is this DDNS? or something in the Synology DSM settings?
Also you mentions I can access my DS by "its local server name" where do I find this? sorry still learning
last question do I have to setup SMB or SMB3 on my PC somewhere? if so how do I do that?

I just wanted to thank everyone for your support, much appreciated, I am slowly learning more and more everyday from all of you. thank you for you support and patience with me.

Thanks,
ulua
mervincm
Versed
Versed
Posts: 205
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 6:08 am

Re: Slow Network Speed, DSM Locks Up

Postby mervincm » Mon Sep 18, 2017 7:10 am

ulua wrote:

SMB
NAS -> PC
Up - 143 MB/S
Down - 1.1 MB/S
MCM=> looks right, 143 MB/sec is not possible as it exceeds the theoretical max unless you are using multiple systems to access your NAS, our you hacked in multichannel SMB support like I did. I am guessing you saw peaks and valleys and the average was closer to about 120 MB/sec

PC -> NAS
Up - 543 KB/S
Down - 116 MB/S
MCM> look fine

IE connecting through my IP 192.xxx.xxx.xxx
File Station -> PC
Up - 117 MB/S
Down - 3 MB?S
MCM> look good

PC -> File Station
Up - 50 KB/S
Down - 13 MB/S
MCM> if this also using the 192.z ip adress this is a strange result. if i upload to NAS locally using chrome via file manager I see 85 MB/sec
in any case I wouldnt ever do this, so I am not sure if its worth spending much time on.


FireFox connecting through my IP 192.xxx.xxx.xxx
File station -> PC
Up - 114 MB/S
Down - 642 KB/S
MCM> looks OK

PC -> File Station
Up - 52 KB/S - This is at the start
Down 12.5 MB/S - This is at the start

I am about 21% done and the new speed is (Also DS starts to lag big time)
Up -> 9 KB/S
Down -> 2.6 MB/S
MCM again seems weird, but I would never do this. I only ever use the web interface to manage the NAS, and use SMB or other file transfer specific protocols for moving big files.

So Looks like Firefox is part of my issue, IE seems a lot more stable, but I don't think i'm still getting what i'm supposed to be getting speed wise.
When using quickconnet and ip on IE the speeds are the same.

MCM>> maybe you have a proxy setup? I get vastly worse speeds using quick connect than I do using the local ip in my browser. if I use quickconnect, I am clearly limited by my internet speed, but if i use local ip, then I see something more appropriate for a LAN connection.

also you mentions you use
I access mine by name, using a domain name I registered, and a letsencrypt cert
is this DDNS? or something in the Synology DSM settings?
MCM>> No. DDNS is like quick connect, its useful for connecting back to your nas from elsewhere on the Internet.
MCM>>I also use DDNS to connect to my network when away from home.

What I was referring to was using a certificate so that I can access my synology by name when at home, and using a secure protocol (https) in my web browser, and do it without my browser complaining that the connection is not actually secure.



Also you mentions I can access my DS by "its local server name" where do I find this? sorry still learning
I just meant by the name you chose for your nas. lets say you call it "diskstation" you can access it locally from your pc by name in webbrowser by using http://diskstation, or in windows file explorer by typing in \\diskstation

its the same as using your ip address but easier to remember


last question do I have to setup SMB or SMB3 on my PC somewhere? if so how do I do that?
If your DSM is up to date, it is in the control panel, file services, under the SMB/AFP/NFS tab, advanced settings
you can set a min of smb2 and a max of smb3, thats what I do.


I just wanted to thank everyone for your support, much appreciated, I am slowly learning more and more everyday from all of you. thank you for you support and patience with me.

Thanks,
ulua
1815+ (factory patched board) 4GB 5x6TB WD RED
ulua
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2017 10:50 am

Re: Slow Network Speed, DSM Locks Up

Postby ulua » Mon Sep 18, 2017 12:19 pm

mervincm wrote:
ulua wrote:

SMB
NAS -> PC
Up - 143 MB/S
Down - 1.1 MB/S
MCM=> looks right, 143 MB/sec is not possible as it exceeds the theoretical max unless you are using multiple systems to access your NAS, our you hacked in multichannel SMB support like I did. I am guessing you saw peaks and valleys and the average was closer to about 120 MB/sec - Yes

PC -> NAS
Up - 543 KB/S
Down - 116 MB/S
MCM> look fine - Ok

IE connecting through my IP 192.xxx.xxx.xxx
File Station -> PC
Up - 117 MB/S
Down - 3 MB?S
MCM> look good - Ok

PC -> File Station
Up - 50 KB/S
Down - 13 MB/S
MCM> if this also using the 192.z ip adress this is a strange result. if i upload to NAS locally using chrome via file manager I see 85 MB/sec
in any case I wouldnt ever do this, so I am not sure if its worth spending much time on. - Yes using 192 addess, ok as you mentioned SMB is the way to go


FireFox connecting through my IP 192.xxx.xxx.xxx
File station -> PC
Up - 114 MB/S
Down - 642 KB/S
MCM> looks OK - Ok

PC -> File Station
Up - 52 KB/S - This is at the start
Down 12.5 MB/S - This is at the start

I am about 21% done and the new speed is (Also DS starts to lag big time)
Up -> 9 KB/S
Down -> 2.6 MB/S
MCM again seems weird, but I would never do this. I only ever use the web interface to manage the NAS, and use SMB or other file transfer specific protocols for moving big files. Ok, I wont stress on this

So Looks like Firefox is part of my issue, IE seems a lot more stable, but I don't think i'm still getting what i'm supposed to be getting speed wise.
When using quickconnet and ip on IE the speeds are the same.

MCM>> maybe you have a proxy setup? I get vastly worse speeds using quick connect than I do using the local ip in my browser. if I use quickconnect, I am clearly limited by my internet speed, but if i use local ip, then I see something more appropriate for a LAN connection. i'll check to see if proxy is setup

also you mentions you use
I access mine by name, using a domain name I registered, and a letsencrypt cert
is this DDNS? or something in the Synology DSM settings?
MCM>> No. DDNS is like quick connect, its useful for connecting back to your nas from elsewhere on the Internet. Ok
MCM>>I also use DDNS to connect to my network when away from home. Ok

What I was referring to was using a certificate so that I can access my synology by name when at home, and using a secure protocol (https) in my web browser, and do it without my browser complaining that the connection is not actually secure. Ok, thanks for the clarification, i'll try this when I get home from work



Also you mentions I can access my DS by "its local server name" where do I find this? sorry still learning
I just meant by the name you chose for your nas. lets say you call it "diskstation" you can access it locally from your pc by name in webbrowser by using http://diskstation, or in windows file explorer by typing in \\diskstation Ok, thanks for the clarification, i'll try this when I get home from work


its the same as using your ip address but easier to remember


last question do I have to setup SMB or SMB3 on my PC somewhere? if so how do I do that?
If your DSM is up to date, it is in the control panel, file services, under the SMB/AFP/NFS tab, advanced settings
you can set a min of smb2 and a max of smb3, thats what I do. Ok, thanks for the clarification, i'll try this when I get home from work



I just wanted to thank everyone for your support, much appreciated, I am slowly learning more and more everyday from all of you. thank you for you support and patience with me.

Thanks,
ulua


Thanks mervincm
ulua
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2017 10:50 am

Re: Slow Network Speed, DSM Locks Up

Postby ulua » Tue Sep 19, 2017 6:10 am

Ok I'm confused with the differences between logging in via quickconnect, IP or NAS name with in my LAN

I'm not seeing the difference between using quickconnect vs. IP
When I do a quickconnect.to/xxxx it reverts back to my IP address and I see no performance difference between IP and quickconnect

is IP a direct connect to my NAS with in my LAN?
and is quickconnect a connection that goes out through WAN and back?

Is connecting to the NAS via NAS name connecting to my NAS with in my LAN?

I did a test loading same file and all performed the same.

My understanding is IP and nas name are the same and quickconnect.to is a slower connection, is this correct?

I do understand that SMB is the best way to transfer files to and from NAS with in my LAN, but am still curious of the above, I just want to understand how it works


Thanks,
ulua
mervincm
Versed
Versed
Posts: 205
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 6:08 am

Re: Slow Network Speed, DSM Locks Up

Postby mervincm » Wed Sep 20, 2017 8:55 pm

ulua wrote:Ok I'm confused with the differences between logging in via quickconnect, IP or NAS name with in my LAN

I'm not seeing the difference between using quickconnect vs. IP
When I do a quickconnect.to/xxxx it reverts back to my IP address and I see no performance difference between IP and quickconnect


I assume you are talking about in your web browser here. What are are describing is not what I see. I see quickconnect.to remain in the web browser URL window. This, combined with looking at the activity at my Internet firewall confirms that when I use quickconnect, all transfers are proxied through synologies quickconnect.to service (in taiwan I assume)



ulua wrote:is IP a direct connect to my NAS with in my LAN?


Yes. If you use the Synology IP address in your web browser window, or in an app, or in windows file explorer, then you are using a direct path from your NAS to your PC. for you to have a setup where this was not true would require a lot of work and knowledge that someone asking the question would not have :)

ulua wrote:and is quickconnect a connection that goes out through WAN and back?


Yes, in my experience this is true. It is possible that syno has something that caches your local IP and when you connect to the quickconnect portal, and log in, authenticating who you are, that it then will try your local IP, but frankly I have never seen it.

ulua wrote:Is connecting to the NAS via NAS name connecting to my NAS with in my LAN?


Yes, this will be true. There will be situations that could be created where it was not true, but this would not happen without your knowledge as work and skills would be involved.

ulua wrote:My understanding is IP and nas name are the same and quickconnect.to is a slower connection, is this correct?

They are the same. When you use a name to refer to a resource, your PC will convert it to an IP address (often using DNS.) if you want to see this for yourself, you can open a command prompt and type in nslookup nasname. it will then respond with a few pieces of information, including what it determined to be the ip address of nasname.
1815+ (factory patched board) 4GB 5x6TB WD RED

Return to “File Server Performance”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests