DNS Server: automatically register A-records

Discussion room for DNS server package
Forum rules
1) This is a user forum for Synology users to share experience/help out each other: if you need direct assistance from the Synology technical support team, please use the following form:
https://myds.synology.com/support/suppo ... p?lang=enu
2) To avoid putting users' DiskStation at risk, please don't paste links to any patches provided by our Support team as we will systematically remove them. Our Support team will provide the correct patch for your DiskStation model.
hellwich
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 12:07 am

DNS Server: automatically register A-records

Postby hellwich » Wed Jul 10, 2013 12:22 am

Hi all,

Just finished the configuration of the DNS Server package on my Synology DS1512+.
I've successfully configured a forward lookup and a reverse lookup zone.
I'v also configured my NAS as a DHCP server (included a DNS suffix).

Both DHCP and DNS are working fine, but I've noticed that the DNS Server does not automatically register DNS dynamic A-records.

Are there any plans to add this functionality to the DNS Server package?
Is there any config file which I can edit to enable this feature?

Kind regards,

Don
aheath
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 7:10 am

Re: DNS Server: automatically register A-records

Postby aheath » Fri Jul 12, 2013 8:15 am

Same query here. I need it to automatically register A records. Would be interested to know if there are any plans for this in the future, and/or if there is a hack to allow this to happen. I know that dhcp v3 server can send updates to bind9 DNS, but not sure what versions are running on Synology. Sorry, my Windows knowledge is very good, but unfortunately my Linux is somewhat limited. I know enough to get myself into trouble :oops: so if I need to edit files to hack it, then happy to do that.
vaticanuk
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 8:51 pm

Re: DNS Server: automatically register A-records

Postby vaticanuk » Mon Sep 16, 2013 1:26 pm

I'm also looking for this functionality.

Atm, when I'm logged in via VPN I have to manually go in to the DHCP server and look at address leases, the use the IP address to connect to a machine rather than just using the machines name... :roll:
hellwich
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 12:07 am

Re: DNS Server: automatically register A-records

Postby hellwich » Wed Sep 18, 2013 11:11 am

Maybe someone from Synology can answer my question or point me in the right direction where I can find/expect an answer from Synology?

Thanks!
User avatar
HarryPotter
Honorary Moderator
Honorary Moderator
Posts: 18136
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: DNS Server: automatically register A-records

Postby HarryPotter » Wed Sep 18, 2013 3:29 pm

hellwich wrote:Maybe someone from Synology can answer my question or point me in the right direction where I can find/expect an answer from Synology?

This is a user forum. If you need personal assistance from Synology staff please submit a support form
*Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!*

DS415+ / DSM 6.1.1-15101-1 / ST4000VN000-2AH166
DS713+ / DSM 6.1.1-15101-1 / HD501LJ + HD502IJ (RAID0)
DS712+ / DSM 6.1-15047-2 / HD154UI + ST31000340AS (RAID0)

2 Squeezebox 3 + Boom

APC Smart UPS SUA750i
hellwich
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 12:07 am

Re: DNS Server: automatically register A-records

Postby hellwich » Mon Sep 23, 2013 10:45 am

Thanks HarryPotter, will do!
hellwich
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 12:07 am

Re: DNS Server: automatically register A-records

Postby hellwich » Tue Sep 24, 2013 9:56 am

For everyone's information:

I submitted a ticket and got a prompt reply from Synology support:

Unfortunately there is no announced plan to support Dynamic A Record at the moment. We apologize for your inconvenience. However, your request has been forwarded to our software developers and product teams for references. They will evaluate the feasibility of this feature.
d0hboy
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 11:42 pm

Re: DNS Server: automatically register A-records

Postby d0hboy » Sun Nov 30, 2014 9:19 pm

I'm hoping this does not get construed as raising this old necrophiliac thread from the dead -- i genuinely want to close the loop on this issue. It's been a year. It was one of the first hits In my web search when looking up 'dns server synology update table'. Is this still an issue, and is there a workaround that people have been advising? Ie. do not use synology's DHCP server? do not use synology's DNS server? use an internal *nix or small windowsServer DNS/DHCP server instead?
gary.clayburg
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 11:34 pm

Re: DNS Server: automatically register A-records

Postby gary.clayburg » Tue Mar 07, 2017 9:38 pm

FYI - there is a workaround to this issue on posted on github. It works for DSM 5 and 6:

https://github.com/gclayburg/synology-diskstation-scripts
hellwich
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 12:07 am

Re: DNS Server: automatically register A-records

Postby hellwich » Mon Mar 13, 2017 8:56 pm

Thanks for the info, Gary! Will take a look. :)
Tom_Hall
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 3:37 pm

Re: DNS Server: automatically register A-records

Postby Tom_Hall » Tue Mar 21, 2017 1:34 pm

Hi Gary & Tim - just decided to take the plunge and try your dhcp/dns script(s)
but my DNS server is running on my rt2600 router, which doesn't have a Task Scheduler in it's control panel
is there any way to get the scripts running on my router, or will I have to move my dns/dhcp/vpn to my nas ?
RT2600 - SRM 1.1.4-6509
DS916+ - DSM 6.1.1-15101-3 (4 x WD 3TB Blues)

Return to “DNS Server”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests