Build my own DSM 2.2-0959 for DS-106, update: 2.3, 3.0, 3.1

Discussion Room for Legacy Disk/Cube/Rack Station from the x01/x06 Series.
Forum rules
1) This is a user forum for Synology users to share experience/help out each other: if you need direct assistance from the Synology technical support team, please use the following form:

https://account.synology.com/support/su ... p?lang=enu



2) To avoid putting users' DiskStation at risk, please don't paste links to any patches provided by our Support team as we will systematically remove them. Our Support team will provide the correct patch for your DiskStation model.
josc
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 11:05 am

Re: Build my own DSM 2.2-0959 for DS-106, update: 2.3, 3.0,

Unread post by josc » Sat Apr 21, 2012 11:30 am

Hi all,

DS-106e
I got a "small" problem, I did the upgrade and i am now running DSM 2.2-0942 SO i was trying to go for the 2.3 but i think i made a mistake. When changing the model number from 106e to 107 in the synoinfo.conf file via telnet (root) and saved it correctly. Then i connected to DS via http://192.168.0.xxx and logged in as admin.

Here is the problem. I only see the top bar of the GUI I don't see the "functions" it is all blank? but no error code?
If I go to download station or file station it is the same, I can connect through Syno Assistant, and it says ready all systems normal?

What is wrong?

EDIT: I did a reset and installed 2.2 and then 2.3 all systems are green :) now i just need to repartion /dev/hda1
Thanks

Regards
josc

davidarkeating
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 2:18 pm

Re: Build my own DSM 2.2-0959 for DS-106, update: 2.3, 3.0,

Unread post by davidarkeating » Thu May 03, 2012 4:02 pm

USB Audio Problem!

I've successfully updated my DS106 to the new DSM4 via the DS108j hack and now cannot connect USB speakers anymore they don't show up in the connected devices.

USB Memory sticks etc. seem to work and I think the LED are behaving correctly but no audio, has anyone else had any experience with this?

Please Help!!

-dk

Correction : The Status LED is NOT working and /var/log/messages is reporting
scemd: modules/led.c:82 unexpected LED behavior every four seconds. :-(

Charly86
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 12:41 am

Linux Kernel 2.6

Unread post by Charly86 » Thu May 10, 2012 8:08 am

Hi,

I succeded to update my DS106 with DSM 3.2 using the tip found in this forum and DS108J hack. Everything works fine.

Unfortunatly, I expected theese DSM update to upgrade my linux kernel. Today it is the stock firmware, even with DSM 3.2.

Code: Select all

root@ds106:~# uname -a
Linux ds106 2.4.22-uc0 #959 Fri Nov 13 03:44:07 CST 2009 ppc GNU/Linux
root@ds106:~#

Is there anyway to update the kernel to 2.6 ? In fact I don't care the DSM version I have, I just want a newer kernel to make my old synonoly DS106 act as the main home automation node.

Any idea appreciated.

Thanks.

goetz
Knowledgeable
Knowledgeable
Posts: 336
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 10:05 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Linux Kernel 2.6

Unread post by goetz » Thu May 10, 2012 10:42 am

Hi,
kernel 2.6 is to big for DS-106 flash. There are only 832k for kernel.
See here for flash layout and replacing bootloader to boot a kernel from disk.

Regards Goetz
DS-209+II / DSM 3.1-1742 /2x 2TB Seagate Constellation ES
DS-107+ / DSM 3.1-1613 / Samsung HD103UI
DS-106 / DSM 3.1-1742 (from 108j) / Hitachi HDP72505
eTrayZ / Samsung HD103SI

Charly86
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 12:41 am

Re: Linux Kernel 2.6

Unread post by Charly86 » Thu May 10, 2012 3:54 pm

Hi,

Thank you for your quick reply and your implication in this forum. I succeded to update DSM with your method.

I already saw this page and I wanted to avoid this, seems complicated. The idea to boot kernel not from flash is okay from me. I will take a look.

Also I am wondering if there is not a possibility to boot another kernel once the syno has booted. using something like kexec.

Does this make sense to you ?

Charles

babard
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:26 pm

Re: Build my own DSM 2.2-0959 for DS-106, update: 2.3, 3.0,

Unread post by babard » Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:42 pm

hi all,

my macbook air (lion) does not recognize my syno 106e
i try to upgrade it but the hacked firmware by goetz in not avaible anymore.
http://www.file-upload.net/download-202 ... 9.pat.html

can you tell me how to find the dam file ?? :wink:

thanks

babard
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:26 pm

Re: Build my own DSM 2.2-0959 for DS-106, update: 2.3, 3.0,

Unread post by babard » Fri Jul 13, 2012 5:51 pm

finally i found the pb !!

i was using the fw for 170e and it was the one for 107

thanks myself :lol:

User avatar
rodef
Skilled
Skilled
Posts: 601
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 9:19 pm

Re: Build my own DSM 2.2-0959 for DS-106, update: 2.3, 3.0,

Unread post by rodef » Sat Jul 14, 2012 12:41 am

Does anyone have the post # which explains how to upload DSM on unsupported models?

I want to see how to put DSM 4.1 beta on my DS508.
Model: DS508; F/W: DSM 4.0-2265; HDD: 5 x Seagate 1TB ST31000340NS (JBOD; Basic); Link Aggregation: Enabled (Gigabit)
Model: DS212; F/W: DSM 6.1.3-15152(6); HDD: 1 x Seagate 3TB ST3000DM001; 1 x Hitachi 3TB S723030ALA640 (RAID 0)
Camera: IQinVision IQeye 702; Other: Squeezebox Boom and Classic (SSODS 4.9.1 / SBS 7.5.2-31632)

mh1976
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Build my own DSM 2.2-0959 for DS-106, update: 2.3, 3.0,

Unread post by mh1976 » Sat Jul 21, 2012 10:20 am

Hi all

Does anybody has any experience with upgrading a cubestation 406 to DSM 4.0? I managed tu upgrade it successfully few years ago to DSM 3.2. I see that the DS411j does not only look like my old CS406 but also has similar components.

Thanks for any feedback.

Martin

keijames
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 11:40 am

Re: Build my own DSM 2.2-0959 for DS-106, update: 2.3, 3.0,

Unread post by keijames » Sat Jul 28, 2012 11:48 am

Goetz,

thanks, good jobs.

James
Last edited by keijames on Mon Jul 30, 2012 9:36 am, edited 1 time in total.
DS-106j / DSM 4.0 2228 (from DS108j) - 320 GB IDE Seagate disk.

keijames
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 11:40 am

Re: Build my own DSM 2.2-0959 for DS-106, update: 2.3, 3.0,

Unread post by keijames » Mon Jul 30, 2012 9:04 am

guys,

I got the answer.

For upgrade ds106j DSM 3.1 , simply edit /etc/synology.conf file , change ds106j -> ds107, save it. ( DO NOT REBOOT ).

Then using Web console to load firmware from ds107 lastest version, upload and upgraded, Adter reboot. The old ds106j hardware become running ds107 DSM 3.1.

Great.

James
DS-106j / DSM 4.0 2228 (from DS108j) - 320 GB IDE Seagate disk.

keijames
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 11:40 am

ds106(x) upgrade ds108j performance question

Unread post by keijames » Mon Jul 30, 2012 9:34 am

guys,

I read a lot upgrade from ds106 hardware with ds108j firmware. However, the performance are not so good, slow in fact.

I compare with both hardware spec.

ds106j vs ds108j

106j
CPU Freescale MPC8241/200
SDRAM 32MB

108j
MPC8241PowerPC
CPU Clock Rate 200 MHz
SDRAM 32MB

There are the same, only difference are IDE vs SATA interface to harddisk.

Does IDE harddisk make the performance difference that much ?

Regards

James
DS-106j / DSM 4.0 2228 (from DS108j) - 320 GB IDE Seagate disk.

keijames
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 11:40 am

Re: Build my own DSM 2.2-0959 for DS-106, update: 2.3, 3.0,

Unread post by keijames » Wed Aug 01, 2012 12:53 am

guys,

It is me again, have issues, need help advise what to do.

I upgraded my ds106j -> ds107 lastest DSM 3.1 (work perfectly), however the orginal internal IDE 160GB getting older, not stable. So I decided to get a bigger IDE 320GB Seagate harddisk swap it. So I did factory reset from DSM console. As soon reset, the ds106j LED flashing orange, waited for 3 hours, finally I power it off. reboot it again, the device broken.

I am not long able to restore the device back to any version of DSM software. I use Synology Assitant found the device, but unable to recovery with both 106j.pat or 107.pat file. It pop error "check hard disk connection, system not detected it" during format steps. I have not even change the bigger hard disk. I taken out the disk, connected to PC with USB reader, I can see the disk are found with multiple partition. I then tried swap with bigger IDE 320GB disk, it was RAW nothing in the disk, Synoloy assitant still unable to proceed format disk.

ANYONE PLEASE ADVISE WHAT TO DO, TRY ETC.

THANKS

James
DS-106j / DSM 4.0 2228 (from DS108j) - 320 GB IDE Seagate disk.

goetz
Knowledgeable
Knowledgeable
Posts: 336
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 10:05 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Build my own DSM 2.2-0959 for DS-106, update: 2.3, 3.0,

Unread post by goetz » Thu Aug 02, 2012 1:11 pm

Hi,
DS-106 uses IDE disks, right? So check jumper settings on disk.

Regards Goetz
DS-209+II / DSM 3.1-1742 /2x 2TB Seagate Constellation ES
DS-107+ / DSM 3.1-1613 / Samsung HD103UI
DS-106 / DSM 3.1-1742 (from 108j) / Hitachi HDP72505
eTrayZ / Samsung HD103SI

keijames
Trainee
Trainee
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 11:40 am

Re: Build my own DSM 2.2-0959 for DS-106, update: 2.3, 3.0,

Unread post by keijames » Sat Aug 04, 2012 2:55 pm

yes, issues resolved.

Cable problem. cool.

now my ds106j hardware become 320gb , dsm 4.0 , ds108j software .

thanks

James
DS-106j / DSM 4.0 2228 (from DS108j) - 320 GB IDE Seagate disk.

Post Reply

Return to “x01/x06/x07 Legacy Discussion”