inofficial fw updates on cs 406

Discussion Room for Legacy Disk/Cube/Rack Station from the x01/x06 Series.
swt
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2007 7:37 am

Re: firmware 1636 on cs 406

Postby swt » Thu Sep 19, 2013 1:10 pm

Hello, had firmware 1955 on my CS406 succesfuly, but then had to (kind of "switch owner" situation) completely replace disks and start device fresh. It become uninstallable so far. I downloaded pat files, but every time I try to install any version (using Synology Assistant) it says "You have to use 1955 or higher".

I am out of options and opinions, CS406 is now just a brick so any help would be GREATLY appreciated.
User avatar
maxxfi
Compiler
Compiler
Posts: 6794
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 12:13 pm
Location: Espoo, Finland

Re: firmware 1636 on cs 406

Postby maxxfi » Thu Sep 19, 2013 2:44 pm

Even if you replace the disks, you cannot install an older firmware.
So, did you try to install the same .pat file that you previously used to install 1955 ?
DS-106j > DS-210j > DS-411
swt
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2007 7:37 am

Re: firmware 1636 on cs 406

Postby swt » Thu Sep 19, 2013 4:18 pm

Thanks for reply, maxxfi.
After frenetic and long experimentation, I found out working combination of 1955 pat file through 0844 Assistant, though I would swore I tried it already before. For record, I started trying 1955 pat and only after fail I tried to use last official etc.
pjhwils
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 6:44 pm

Re: firmware 1636 on cs 406

Postby pjhwils » Tue Oct 08, 2013 10:37 am

Alfredo wrote:I should really remove that file from my server because you're not the first one to tell me there's an error. Apparently I did something wrong when compiling it. Since it's an experimental firmware with some features not working (such as the LEDs), I don' think I'll be redoing it any time soon. Sorry.


Hi Alfredo, I had my CS406e on 3.1 1635, which worked fine, except for an rsync bug that made it impossible to backup from a DSM4.2 station to this 3.1. Synology delivered a fix for this, but only for version 1637: the last version for the x07 series, but not available for the x06 series.

I then decided to make a CS407e out of my CS406e by updating the synoinfo.conf, but installation with DS Assistant (with DSM 3.1 1637 for 407e) crashed and rendered my box empty with no fw, expecting a fw for CS406e. It is only accessible via telnet with a secret password, known by Synology only. DS Assistant expects at least a 1637 for the CS406e.

Do you happen to have a newer (1637 onwards) version for the CS406e? I'd be very thankful!
clickandgo
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 8:21 pm

Re: firmware 1636 on cs 406

Postby clickandgo » Sun Nov 24, 2013 7:19 pm

Do anyone have a link, for beta firmware 4.x.?:D

I would like to downlolad it and try it out:D
edmond
Versed
Versed
Posts: 282
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 10:10 am

Re: inofficial fw updates on cs 406

Postby edmond » Mon Nov 25, 2013 8:12 pm

yes i have the 4.1 en 4.2 link
but not the 4.0 http://59.124.61.242/download/beta/
clickandgo
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 8:21 pm

Re: inofficial fw updates on cs 406

Postby clickandgo » Tue Nov 26, 2013 6:11 pm

Hello and thank you very much for the link, but i dont see a dl link for ds 406?
User avatar
HarryPotter
Honorary Moderator
Honorary Moderator
Posts: 18188
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: inofficial fw updates on cs 406

Postby HarryPotter » Tue Nov 26, 2013 7:55 pm

:?: The last FW Synology launched for CS406 was 2.0-0731.
*Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!*

DS415+ / DSM 6.1.1-15101-1 / ST4000VN000-2AH166
DS713+ / DSM 6.1.1-15101-1 / HD501LJ + HD502IJ (RAID0)
DS712+ / DSM 6.1-15047-2 / HD154UI + ST31000340AS (RAID0)

2 Squeezebox 3 + Boom

APC Smart UPS SUA750i
User avatar
Vaako
Versed
Versed
Posts: 229
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 12:32 am

Re: inofficial fw updates on cs 406

Postby Vaako » Wed Jun 04, 2014 5:58 pm

Are the LED's working normal on the DSM 3.2 modded builds or does this issue stil exist?
Regards,
Vaako

USB Station 2 with DSM 3.2-1979 (altenative firmware) + (IPKG)
DS101g+ with DS107 DSM 3.1-1636 firmware
DC406e with DSM 3.1-1635 (thanks to Alfredo)
DS1511+ 2Gb RAM with DSM 6.1-15047 Update 2
DS1515+ 8Gb RAM with DSM 6.1-15047 Update 2 + 2x DX510
kbird
Student
Student
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 10:19 pm

Re: inofficial fw updates on cs 406

Postby kbird » Fri Jun 06, 2014 9:29 pm

you can control the LEDs with Linux commands in a script file if needed , I have done it with my 107e ( now a 109j) , think I posted in one of the 107e threads how to do it...

M.
DS_107e as a 109j
Using 4.2.3254
Esata not Working as 109j
User avatar
Vaako
Versed
Versed
Posts: 229
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 12:32 am

Re: inofficial fw updates on cs 406

Postby Vaako » Sun Jun 08, 2014 7:11 pm

kbird wrote:you can control the LEDs with Linux commands in a script file if needed , I have done it with my 107e ( now a 109j) , think I posted in one of the 107e threads how to do it...

M.


Hi kbird,

I can not find the post you mention.
Wil you put the link here please of that post?

Thanks in advance!
Regards,
Vaako

USB Station 2 with DSM 3.2-1979 (altenative firmware) + (IPKG)
DS101g+ with DS107 DSM 3.1-1636 firmware
DC406e with DSM 3.1-1635 (thanks to Alfredo)
DS1511+ 2Gb RAM with DSM 6.1-15047 Update 2
DS1515+ 8Gb RAM with DSM 6.1-15047 Update 2 + 2x DX510
kbird
Student
Student
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 10:19 pm

Re: inofficial fw updates on cs 406

Postby kbird » Mon Jun 09, 2014 1:48 am

there are many posts regarding this but you are right I can't find my one
but searching script and led (1st link) gets me many.
viewtopic.php?f=39&t=20485&hilit=script+led

seems there was an Android app
viewtopic.php?f=39&t=42830&p=202498&hilit=script+led#p202498

and a 3rd Party App

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=14725&p=116590&hilit=script+led#p116590


Good threads

viewtopic.php?f=27&t=53102&p=203154&hilit=script+led#p203154

viewtopic.php?f=39&t=40519#p158835

viewtopic.php?f=27&t=20485

viewtopic.php?f=39&t=29186&p=115650&hilit=script+led#p115650.

I'll find the stuff I have if you needed it and post.
DS_107e as a 109j
Using 4.2.3254
Esata not Working as 109j
Alfredo
Versed
Versed
Posts: 276
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 5:12 pm

Re: firmware 1636 on cs 406

Postby Alfredo » Mon Jun 09, 2014 2:26 pm

pjhwils wrote:Hi Alfredo, I had my CS406e on 3.1 1635, which worked fine, except for an rsync bug that made it impossible to backup from a DSM4.2 station to this 3.1. Synology delivered a fix for this, but only for version 1637: the last version for the x07 series, but not available for the x06 series.

I then decided to make a CS407e out of my CS406e by updating the synoinfo.conf, but installation with DS Assistant (with DSM 3.1 1637 for 407e) crashed and rendered my box empty with no fw, expecting a fw for CS406e. It is only accessible via telnet with a secret password, known by Synology only. DS Assistant expects at least a 1637 for the CS406e.

Do you happen to have a newer (1637 onwards) version for the CS406e? I'd be very thankful!

Very late reply...
My CS406 is currently gathering dust at home (while I am some place else). If enough people ask for it though, I'll create a new set of builds for v1637.
CS406 - DSM 2.2 0942 (modified from CS-407e)
edmond
Versed
Versed
Posts: 282
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 10:10 am

Re: inofficial fw updates on cs 406

Postby edmond » Tue Jun 17, 2014 4:05 pm

Hi Alfredo

that would be great an update for the cs406
InKLy
I'm New!
I'm New!
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 6:31 am

Re: inofficial fw updates on cs 406

Postby InKLy » Tue Sep 09, 2014 6:34 am

Yes would be great!!

could you add openssl fix?

Return to “x01/x06/x07 Legacy Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest