How to "Set-n-Forget" backup with Synology Data Replicator 3

From SynologyWiki
Jump to: navigation, search


This guide is designed to show new users how to use Synology's Data Replicator 3 (DR3) in setting up Set-n-Forget Backup, for their Windows client computers.

This guide assumes

  • That the Synology Data Replicator 3 is installed on your Windows Computer
  • That you are familiar with setting up the File/folder permissions of the Synology Product.
  • Note:
    • DR3 is designed to backup user data, not system data. If you wish to perform whole system back ups (ie, backup your entire operating system to an image), please consider another solution.
    • This guide was written using Data Replicator 3.0-1.0129


Set a private location on the Synology Disk Station to store private data

Create a home folder or private share on the Disk Station before attempting to use Data Replicator 3 to backup data. Creating a home folder or private share is a private location to store the backup contents, reducing the possibility that it can be accessed by unauthorized parties.


Setting up DR3

Step 1:

Begin by starting executing DR3

Dr3.01.jpg

Step 2:

Press the Select key to find a Synology Server to use

Dr3.02.jpg

Step 3:

Select the default parameter of Synology Server and press Ok to continue.
Note: Selecting Other Location will bring about a new text box for input. The new location can be another Synology Server or even another computer as long as it is within the same LAN. This function can be used to target destinations which are on different subnets.

Dr3.03.jpg

Step 4:

After selecting Synology Server from the previous step, DR3 will begin to search for Synology Servers to use. Here, this guide will use SynologyServer as the target destination.

Dr3.04.jpg

Step 5:

Enter the credentials needed to access the target server.
Be sure to enable Auto-Connect on Data Replicator 3 startup. Using this function will set DR3 to automatically connect to the selected server, and thus searching for the target server is no longer necessary in the future.

Dr3.05.jpg

Step 6:

Select a target folder to use, to store the data you wish to backup.

  • If the user home service is enabled, select the home folder as a backup destination.
Dr3.06.jpg

Step 7:

Note the Backup Destination has been set, and that DR3 is ready to begin a backup job

Dr3.07.jpg

Step 8:

Select Options on the left hand side, and enable these recommended functions for your backup

  • File Versions: Enabling this function will allow DR3 to keep redundant versions of the same file, up to twenty revisions of the same file can be made in DR3.
  • Restore Points: Enabling this function will allow DR3 will create whole restore points of each backup jobs, such as having multiple days worth of backups. Up to 128 restore points can be created; I would recommend having 7~10 restore points. Seven for one backup job per day of the week, and an extra three as a security measure.
Note: Restore points can only be used on Windows 2000, Windows XP, Windows 2003, or Windows Vista
  • Auto Start Data Replicator 3 on Windows Startup: This function must be enabled for Set-n-Forget Backup to function correctly. This will allow DR3 to start up automatically when Windows boots up.
  • Note, using File Versions and/or Restore points with DR3 will create Hard Links for the different versions/points on the Synology system, where data is not changed. The usage of Hard Links will inflate the logical disk space usage, however, physical disk space will remain the same.
Dr3.08.jpg

Step 9:

Now with all options set, select which folders/data that need to be backed up. Afterwards, press the Sync button near the bottom of the window.

  • Note: the ability of backing up opened files, such as Outlook data, or an open Publisher file, can only be done using Windows XP, Windows 2003, or Windows Vista
Dr3.09.jpg

Step 10:

When enabling Synchronization mode, DR3 will prompt how often the Outlook Mail file should be backed up. Recommended is every four hours.

  • Note: Please note that Outlook Mail data can be very large, selecting a smaller interval may result in large amounts of being backed up to the Synology Server to often.
  • Note: If you wish to use Scheduled Backup, proceed to Alternative Method
Dr3.10.jpg

Step 11:

DR3 is performing Synchronization

Dr3.11.jpg

Step 12:

After all data has been Synchronized, DR3 will begin to monitor for file changes, as noted by the "Status Bar" near the bottom of the program Window. All options to the backup job will be locked, and cannot be changed unless Sync mode is disabled. On the right hand of the desktop, DR3 will also display status box when it is performing activity, or if there is an error during the backup task.

Dr3.12.jpg

Dr3.13.jpg

Step 13:

A view of the data backed up on the SynologyServer

Dr3.17.jpg


Alternative Method

This method will start from the previous Step 9; this will cover using a Scheduled Backup to backup data, this is primarily useful when performing full complete backups a night, such as backing work stations when there are no users present.


Step 1:

Begin by pressing the Schedule button and set the how often and when Scheduled Backup should take place.

Dr3.14.jpg

Step 2:

Enter the password of the Windows terminal so that DR3 can execute the backup job while there is no user "Logged In" to the terminal.

  • Note: This step may be skipped if scheduled backup is to occur when there is a user logged into the terminal
Dr3.15.jpg

Step 3:

Scheduled backup is now enabled, as noted by the text at the bottom of the buttons. If the schedule needs to be updated or changed, delete the old schedule and create a new one.

Dr3.16.jpg

Trouble shooting

Schedule setup

If you have issues on schedule setup, please perform the following steps to fix the problem.

1. Check Windows compatibility


If your Windows computer is running Windows 8 and Data Replicator 3 is a version prior to 152. Please install DR v152 (or later) first.

2. Check Windows UAC settings

If your Windows enabled UAC setting, please make sure DR program has administrator permission to edit task scheduler.


Step 1:

Right click on DR icon -> Click Run as Administrator

3. Check permission to add schedule task


Please check the Windows account has permission to create tasks in Windows Task Scheduler.

Step 1:

Click Task Schedule Library -> Right click on the middle panel -> Select Create new task

Create new task.png

Step 2:

Fill in the test task name in the General tab (I used test here)

Task name.png

Step 3:

Fill in a executable action in the Action tab (I used PING.EXE here)

Task action.png

Step 4:

After clicking Ok, you'll then see a new task test in the middle panel.

Task info.png

If you cannot create the task, please check your account permissions.

4. Check permission to access task schedule folder


Please check your Windows account has the necessary privileges to access the task scheduler folder.

Step 1:

Open File Explorer -> Click C:/Windows/ -> Right click on Tasks -> Click Property

Folder privilege.png

If your account cannot access the folder of the task scheduler, please grant permission to your account on this folder.


5. Check whether password was ever changed


Was the password of the Windows account ever changed?

If you ever changed the password of your Windows account, existing scheduled tasks will stop working. Please perform the following actions to solve this issue.

Step 1:

Remove the existing scheduled task.

Dr3.16.jpg

Step 2:

Press the Schedule button and set both the starting time as well as the frequency of the Scheduled Backup task.

Dr3.14.jpg

Step 3:

Enter the password of the Windows terminal so that DR3 can execute the backup while there is no user "Logged In" to the terminal.

  • Note: This step may be skipped if the scheduled backup is to occur when there is a user logged into the terminal
Dr3.15.jpg

6. Send technical support


If your problem is still not solved by the steps above, please get in touch with our technical support team(Synology Online Support).

Personal tools
Community Resources