Backup Mac data using Time Machine

From SynologyWiki
Jump to: navigation, search
TimeMachine.png

Overview

This article will guide administrators using Apple's Time Machine to backup data to the Synology DiskStation. This article will cover two methods, using Apple network protocols, and using iSCSI.
This article was written from DSM 2.2-0942.

Known Limits

  • Leopard Users may use Time Machine over Apple Network Protocols, provided that the network connection is not interrupted (ie, Mac goes to sleep, or network cable accidentally removed). If the network connection is disconnected, upon resume, a connection failed prompt will be displayed. If the network connection will be regularly interrupted, it's suggested to use the iSCSI Method to conduct Time Machine Backups.



Backing up using Time Machine over Apple Network Protocols

Step 1:

  • Login to the Synology DiskStation Manager as administrator
Dsm22logon.png

Step 2:

TimeMachineDSM22.01.png

Step 3:

  • Proceed to File Sharing -> Win/Mac OS
  • Make sure that Apple Talk Services are enabled
  • Select the share which was created in step two, as a Time Machine Target
  • Click Ok to confirm the settings.
TimeMachineDSM22.02.png

Step 4:

  • Proceed to System Preferences on the Mac Computer.
  • Click on Time Machine
TimeMachine-tm1.01.png

Step 5:

  • Click on Choose Backup Disk
TimeMachine-tm1.02.png

Step 6:

  • Select the Time Machine share which is located on the DiskStation
TimeMachine-tm1.03.png

Step 7:

  • Provide user credentials to access the Time Machine share.
  • Click on Connect to proceed.
TimeMachine-tm1.04.png

Step 8:

  • Time Machine is counting down...
TimeMachine-tm1.05.png

Step 9:

  • Time Machine is preparing...
TimeMachine-tm1.06.png

Step 10:

  • Time Machine Backup is in progress...
TimeMachine-tm1.07.png


Backing up using Time Machine over iSCSI Protocol

Step 1:

  • Login to the Synology DiskStation Manager as administrator
Dsm22logon.png

Step 2:

  • Create and mount an iSCSI Target on the Synology DiskStation
Iscsidsm01.png

Step 3:

  • Proceed to System Preferences on the Mac Computer.
  • Click on Time Machine
TimeMachine-tm1.01.png

Step 4:

  • Click on Choose Backup Disk
TimeMachine-tm1.02.png

Step 5:

  • Select the iSCSI Target
  • And click Use for backup to proceed
TimeMachine-tm2.03.png

Step 6:

  • Time Machine will start counting down...
TimeMachine-tm2.04.png

Step 7:

  • Time Machine backup in progress...
TimeMachine-tm2.05.png


How to setup Time Machine to use quotas on the DiskStation

Overview: this will guide administrators into setting up quota limits on the DiskStation, to limit the amount of space used on the DiskStation to maintain Time Machine Backups. Please be sure to review backing up using Time Machine over Apple Network Protocols article before attempting to enable quota support on the DiskStation.


Setting up the DiskStation

  1. Create a shared folder called TimeMachine (in this example) on the DiskStation.
  2. Create a user account, such as TM and assigned a user quota.
    • The quota should be at the very minimum, twice the size of the Mac Hard Drive or the amount of data which should be backed up. A recommended quota size is three times the size of the Mac Hard Drive. Example, 3 Macs with 500GB HDDs each would equate a minimum quota requirement of 3TB, or a recommended quota limit of 4.5TB.
      • To maintain a lot of multiple restore points of the Mac Computer, and to ensure proper Time Machine operation, maintaining a large quota requirement is required.
      • If the quota requirement is too large, please consider adjusting the data which is backed within Time Machine
  3. Set the DiskStation to use TimeMachine as the TimeMachine destination for holding backups.


Setting up the Mac Computer

  1. Open Time Machine
  2. Select the TimeMachine share, which was created in the previous DiskStation setup directions.
  3. Enter the user name TM and it's password
  4. Done, the Mac will be backing up using quota assigned to user TM


Adjusting what to backup within Time Machine

Overview: this will guide administrators into adjusting which data to be backed up onto the DiskStation to reduce quota requirements.

  • Note: Altering the default Time Machine settings will drastically alter backup points of OS X - therefore, should a Mac system failure occur, a clean install of the OS will be required. All user (including but not limited too) preferences, customizations, applications, etc., will have to be restored manually. Failure to set Time Machine to backup (including but not limited to) user bookmarks/favorites, emails, photos, music, etc, may result in loss of backup, therefore data loss during a Mac system failure.
  • This information is listed for experienced administrators who wish to set Time Machine to backup specific data on the Mac Hard drive, thus reducing the storage requirement of holding backups by backing up just user data only. Novice users should consider using the default options, and not to adjust the options of Time Machine.


Step 1:

  • Open Time Machine
  • Click Options
TimeMachineOptions 01.png

Step 2:

  • Here is a list of items which have been excluded to back up
  • Click on + symbol
TimeMachineOptions 02.png

Step 3:

  • Make sure that the Mac Hard Drive has been selected
TimeMachineOptions 03.png

Step 4:

  • Enable Show Invisible Items
TimeMachineOptions 04.png

Step 5:

  • Start selecting all data which should be excluded from the backup.
  • Please do not select the Users folder to be excluded.
  • Click on Exclude when done
TimeMachineOptions 05.png

Step 6:

  • Time Machine will begin calculating the new backup size
  • Press Done when complete
  • Time Machine will proceed to backup what data that hasn't been excluded on the Mac Hard Drive.
TimeMachineOptions 06.png


External Links

Personal tools
Community Resources