PHP embedded variables

Questions about hosting a Website, using MySQL, PhP or MariaDB may be posted here.
Forum rules
This is a user forum for Synology users to share experience/help out each other: if you need direct assistance from the Synology technical support team, please use the following form:
https://myds.synology.com/support/suppo ... p?lang=enu

PHP embedded variables

Postby axj » Sun Jan 16, 2011 12:51 am

Is there any way to read or get the external ip-address no matter which router you have?

I had for a long time a Belkin Router (N1 Vision), where the variable "REMOTE_ADDR" contained the exter IP!
Now after the Belkin is gone to the router-paradise I have tried 3 different routers and none of them sets that variable.

Do anybody know if there is a router which can read the correct external ip-address?
The DS-509+ knows that addess and the router too, but how to get it readable?
DS509+ 4*1TB Raid+1TB DSM 4.0-2219. Logitech BOOM+Duet 7.6.1, WebCam: Linksys WVC54GCA + TrendNet TV-IP121
DS212+ 1TB & D-Link DIR-685, HP C7280, Dell 3100cn. iPad3, Programming Pascal, Clarion 5.5, html/php. http://axj.dk
User avatar
axj
Specialist
Specialist
 
Posts: 1058
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2009 10:59 am
Location: Esbjerg, Danmark

Re: PHP embedded variables

Postby HarryPotter » Sun Jan 16, 2011 12:51 pm

This has nothing to do with the router but with the apache configuration.

Did you try with $_SERVER['REMOTE_ADDR'] instead of $REMOTE_ADDR
*Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!*

DS713+ / DSM 5.0-4458-1 / 2 x HD204UI (RAID0) / LMS 7.7.3-032
DS712+ / DSM 5.0-4458-1 / 2 x HDS721010KLA330 (RAID0)
DS110+ / DSM 5.0-4458-1 / HD154UI
DS408 / DSM 4.0 2228 / 2 x ST31000340AS (RAID0) + 1 x HDS721010KLA330
DS207+ / DSM 3.1.1637 / ST31000340AS + WD5000KS

2 Squeezebox 3 + Boom
Rapsody N35

APC Smart UPS SUA750i
User avatar
HarryPotter
Honorary Moderator
Honorary Moderator
 
Posts: 14117
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: PHP embedded variables

Postby axj » Sun Jan 16, 2011 1:46 pm

That is the same! See the PHP-info using <? phpinfo(); ?>

We have a lot of variables in the form REMOTE_ADDR as an example and the $_SERVER['REMOTE_ADDR']
and getenv(REMOTE_ADDR) gives the same value.

With my old router the REMOTE_ADDR had the value of the routers external address while the new
router (TRENDNET TEW-&#)GR and LINKSYS E2000/E3000 - Cisco) gives 192.168.10.1 (internal ip).

I will do some more tests when my new DNS works again!

Do you know how the DS gets the external value ?
DS509+ 4*1TB Raid+1TB DSM 4.0-2219. Logitech BOOM+Duet 7.6.1, WebCam: Linksys WVC54GCA + TrendNet TV-IP121
DS212+ 1TB & D-Link DIR-685, HP C7280, Dell 3100cn. iPad3, Programming Pascal, Clarion 5.5, html/php. http://axj.dk
User avatar
axj
Specialist
Specialist
 
Posts: 1058
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2009 10:59 am
Location: Esbjerg, Danmark

Re: PHP embedded variables

Postby axj » Sun Jan 16, 2011 3:03 pm

Now my DNS is working again!

And when I use http://axj.dk and look at the PHP Info, I can see:
SERVER_NAME: axj.dk
SERVER_ADDR: 192.168.10.107
REMOTE_ADDR: 192.168.10.1 which is my routers intern ip-address

Belkin gave here the extern ip-address when I use http://axj.dk
but the intern ip-address when I used http:/192.107.10.107.
and I did not change anything else but new router!!
DS509+ 4*1TB Raid+1TB DSM 4.0-2219. Logitech BOOM+Duet 7.6.1, WebCam: Linksys WVC54GCA + TrendNet TV-IP121
DS212+ 1TB & D-Link DIR-685, HP C7280, Dell 3100cn. iPad3, Programming Pascal, Clarion 5.5, html/php. http://axj.dk
User avatar
axj
Specialist
Specialist
 
Posts: 1058
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2009 10:59 am
Location: Esbjerg, Danmark

Re: PHP embedded variables

Postby axj » Sun Jan 16, 2011 3:48 pm

I have found a usable solution: $ipAddress = gethostbyname($_SERVER['SERVER_NAME']);
which works as longs as DDNS is working
DS509+ 4*1TB Raid+1TB DSM 4.0-2219. Logitech BOOM+Duet 7.6.1, WebCam: Linksys WVC54GCA + TrendNet TV-IP121
DS212+ 1TB & D-Link DIR-685, HP C7280, Dell 3100cn. iPad3, Programming Pascal, Clarion 5.5, html/php. http://axj.dk
User avatar
axj
Specialist
Specialist
 
Posts: 1058
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2009 10:59 am
Location: Esbjerg, Danmark

Re: PHP embedded variables

Postby HarryPotter » Sun Jan 16, 2011 5:50 pm

AFAIK the DS gets the external address from http://download.synology.com/
*Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!*

DS713+ / DSM 5.0-4458-1 / 2 x HD204UI (RAID0) / LMS 7.7.3-032
DS712+ / DSM 5.0-4458-1 / 2 x HDS721010KLA330 (RAID0)
DS110+ / DSM 5.0-4458-1 / HD154UI
DS408 / DSM 4.0 2228 / 2 x ST31000340AS (RAID0) + 1 x HDS721010KLA330
DS207+ / DSM 3.1.1637 / ST31000340AS + WD5000KS

2 Squeezebox 3 + Boom
Rapsody N35

APC Smart UPS SUA750i
User avatar
HarryPotter
Honorary Moderator
Honorary Moderator
 
Posts: 14117
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: PHP embedded variables

Postby axj » Sun Jan 16, 2011 10:05 pm

And that is maybe a little more useful because a domain-name isn't nessacary!
DS509+ 4*1TB Raid+1TB DSM 4.0-2219. Logitech BOOM+Duet 7.6.1, WebCam: Linksys WVC54GCA + TrendNet TV-IP121
DS212+ 1TB & D-Link DIR-685, HP C7280, Dell 3100cn. iPad3, Programming Pascal, Clarion 5.5, html/php. http://axj.dk
User avatar
axj
Specialist
Specialist
 
Posts: 1058
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2009 10:59 am
Location: Esbjerg, Danmark

Re: PHP embedded variables

Postby axj » Sat Jan 22, 2011 5:29 pm

Does anybody know if the external IP is stored in some variable, which can be read/reached?
The external IP is read by DS in Network - DDNS!
DS509+ 4*1TB Raid+1TB DSM 4.0-2219. Logitech BOOM+Duet 7.6.1, WebCam: Linksys WVC54GCA + TrendNet TV-IP121
DS212+ 1TB & D-Link DIR-685, HP C7280, Dell 3100cn. iPad3, Programming Pascal, Clarion 5.5, html/php. http://axj.dk
User avatar
axj
Specialist
Specialist
 
Posts: 1058
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2009 10:59 am
Location: Esbjerg, Danmark


Return to Web Server + PHP / MySQL + MariaDB

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests