Unknown router - setting up internet access

Topics pertaining to volume setup, boot/shutdown, initialization, DSM update, HDD migration.
Forum rules
1) This is a user forum for Synology users to share experience/help out each other: if you need direct assistance from the Synology technical support team, please use the following form:
https://myds.synology.com/support/suppo ... p?lang=enu
2) To avoid putting users' DiskStation at risk, please don't paste links to any patches provided by our Support team as we will systematically remove them. Our Support team will provide the correct patch for your DiskStation model.

Unknown router - setting up internet access

Postby mci » Fri Mar 26, 2010 10:08 am

Hi,

I'm trying to set up access from the Internet to my Synology 210j.
The problem is that my wifi router is unknown to Synology (it's not in the list for setting up), and it seems that there is no way to bypass the router selection.

I'm totally happy to set up port forwarding on the router myself, directly. But Synology interface doesn't allow me to proceed past router selection. Any suggestions?
mci
I'm New!
I'm New!
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 10:05 am

Re: Unknown router - setting up internet access

Postby Trolli » Fri Mar 26, 2010 12:17 pm

Portforwarding is not done through the Disk Station Manager (if you don't use the new configuration feature). You have to configure this in the management interface of your router

Maybe this helps: http://portforward.com/
Disk Station 1511+ - DSM 4.0 Beta - 2166
3x3TB Western Digital WD30EZRX, Raid 5

Disk Station 508 - DSM 3.2 - 1922
5x1TB Western Digital WD10EADS, Raid5


Moderator @ German Synology Forum
Trolli
Enlightened
Enlightened
 
Posts: 406
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 7:53 am
Location: Germany

Re: Unknown router - setting up internet access

Postby jgni » Sat Mar 27, 2010 1:33 am

Trolli wrote:Portforwarding is not done through the Disk Station Manager (if you don't use the new configuration feature). You have to configure this in the management interface of your router


Hi Trolli

I have the same problem. When I portforward in my router to port 5000 and/or 5001 NOTHING happends.
And I also have the same problem as mci, that my router is not listed in configuration manager.

What to do?
~~
Regards
Jan G. Laursen
DS209+
User avatar
jgni
Trainee
Trainee
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 11:03 pm
Location: Aarhus V

Re: Unknown router - setting up internet access

Postby jgni » Sat Mar 27, 2010 2:06 am

mci wrote:I'm totally happy to set up port forwarding on the router myself, directly. But Synology interface doesn't allow me to proceed past router selection. Any suggestions?


I've just done 2 things, and now It's working!!
I've skipped the internet setup feature (and just made the forwarding in the router manually), and then went to 'Firewall' and made a new rule allowing port 5000 and 5001 to pass through the NAS firewall.
Then I tried my public IP like this https://url:5001 and woila everything worked :!:

As you can see I have made a setup with https.
~~
Regards
Jan G. Laursen
DS209+
User avatar
jgni
Trainee
Trainee
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 11:03 pm
Location: Aarhus V


Return to Installation, Configuration, Migration, Expansion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests