VPN client functionality

Discuss with the community any ideas you'd love to see in future DiskStations and DSM updates! We do our best to monitor and forward all of them, but we recommend to also use this form as our team will systematically see your suggestion:
http://www.synology.com/support/inquiry ... enu&type=1
Forum rules
We do our best to monitor and forward your ideas to our team, but due to the large amount, we may not see every single one and recommend to also use this form as our team will systematically see your suggestion:
http://www.synology.com/support/inquiry ... enu&type=1

Change VPN ports

Postby ROELLI » Mon Feb 20, 2012 8:43 pm

I'm not sure if this is already possible via changing configuration files, but I'd love to be able change the ports used for VPN straight from the DSM interface. My institution blocks the ports most commonly used for PPTP and OpenVPN connections, so I can't make a VPN connection to my home NAS. :(
DS411+, DS212+
4x WD1002FBYS, 1x WD30EZRX
Latest stable DSM
Routers: Netopia 3397GP, Netgear WNDR3700
Devices: PS3, WDTV Live, SONOS PLAY:5, Acer A100, SGS II
ROELLI
Rookie
Rookie
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 8:31 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Change VPN ports

Postby oRBIT » Wed Feb 22, 2012 9:29 am

I have the same issue, and it has been discussed in another thread. I think the port can be changed, but not by mortals (like me). Why they didn't have an option for this in DSM GUI is a mystery.
DS412+ (Seagate Momentus 500GB, ST9500325AS & Samsung Ecogreen F4, 2TB, HD204UI)
oRBIT
Knowledgeable
Knowledgeable
 
Posts: 396
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 2:17 pm
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Change VPN ports

Postby TommyN » Wed Feb 22, 2012 4:30 pm

It's a good idea, but untill it can be done, you can try to forward the port you know is good from your institution to the VPN port on your DS.

E.g.
Internet > Port 80 <Router> Port 1723 > DS (VPN)

DS712+ / DSM 4.3-3827 / 2 x 3 TB WD30EZRX / RAID 1
Seagate FreeAgent 500 GB in USB 1
ASUS RT-N65U FW:3.0.0.4.372_1363
Boxee Box +HACKS
Logitech Squeezebox Boom
User avatar
TommyN
Knowledgeable
Knowledgeable
 
Posts: 360
Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 1:42 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: Change VPN ports

Postby henkg » Wed Feb 22, 2012 5:12 pm

I don't think port translation in your router will work. The VPN PPTP client always uses port 1723, no matter what.
Please correct me if I am wrong. I encounter the same problem. From what I have read, OpenVPN could be an option. But not for me: I am not allowed to install software at my work workstation.
DS412+. 4x WD40EFRX, RAID5. DSM 5.0-4493 update 1
DS210j. 2x HD204UI, RAID1. DSM 5.0-4493 update 2
Windows 8.1 Pro. Router Netgear WNDR3700. Switch TP-Link TL-SG1008D. AcRyan Mini v1. UPS APC BE700G-GR. Ipcam Edimax IC-3010.
henkg
Seasoned
Seasoned
 
Posts: 524
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 8:16 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Change VPN ports

Postby ROELLI » Wed Feb 22, 2012 5:35 pm

henkg wrote:I don't think port translation in your router will work. The VPN PPTP client always uses port 1723, no matter what.
Please correct me if I am wrong. I encounter the same problem. From what I have read, OpenVPN could be an option. But not for me: I am not allowed to install software at my work workstation.

You're right. I tried port translation, but my Android phone still won't connect to the VPN, simply because it is hardcoded to use port 1723. What a pain. :(

Thank you all for your input!
DS411+, DS212+
4x WD1002FBYS, 1x WD30EZRX
Latest stable DSM
Routers: Netopia 3397GP, Netgear WNDR3700
Devices: PS3, WDTV Live, SONOS PLAY:5, Acer A100, SGS II
ROELLI
Rookie
Rookie
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 8:31 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Change VPN ports

Postby henkg » Wed Feb 22, 2012 6:24 pm

ROELLI wrote: .... but my Android phone still won't connect to the VPN ....

Assuming you are running the VPN server on your DS, and are testing from your smartphone:
This should (could?) work. With my Android HTC HD I can establish a VPN connection over my local WiFi as well as over 3G. However, accessing files with ES File Explorer is only possible over WiFi, not over 3G.
This does of course not solve the port 1723 blocking problem at your office / institution.
(I did not try the WiFi at my office. I am quite sure this will not work either: they use a proxy and probably resticted ports). So the problem remains...
DS412+. 4x WD40EFRX, RAID5. DSM 5.0-4493 update 1
DS210j. 2x HD204UI, RAID1. DSM 5.0-4493 update 2
Windows 8.1 Pro. Router Netgear WNDR3700. Switch TP-Link TL-SG1008D. AcRyan Mini v1. UPS APC BE700G-GR. Ipcam Edimax IC-3010.
henkg
Seasoned
Seasoned
 
Posts: 524
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 8:16 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Change VPN ports

Postby zandhaas » Wed Feb 22, 2012 6:56 pm

I'm using openvpn.
I have forwarde port 443 in my router to port 1723,
On my laptop I have installed an openvpn client with port 443 configured.

Peter
DS710+ DSM 5.0-4458 + 2 * WD20EARS
DS213+ DSM 5.0-4458 + 2 * ST2000DM001-9YN1
zandhaas
Experienced
Experienced
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 11:06 am

Re: Change VPN ports

Postby oRBIT » Wed Feb 22, 2012 7:06 pm

zandhaas wrote:I'm using openvpn.
I have forwarde port 443 in my router to port 1723,
On my laptop I have installed an openvpn client with port 443 configured.

Peter


what kind of router do you have to support that?
DS412+ (Seagate Momentus 500GB, ST9500325AS & Samsung Ecogreen F4, 2TB, HD204UI)
oRBIT
Knowledgeable
Knowledgeable
 
Posts: 396
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 2:17 pm
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Change VPN ports

Postby ROELLI » Wed Feb 22, 2012 7:23 pm

henkg wrote:
ROELLI wrote: .... but my Android phone still won't connect to the VPN ....

Assuming you are running the VPN server on your DS, and are testing from your smartphone:
This should (could?) work. With my Android HTC HD I can establish a VPN connection over my local WiFi as well as over 3G.

Yes, indeed: I can also establish a VPN connection over local WiFi and 3G with port 1723 forwarded, but as my office blocks port 1723, and my Android phone can only establish PPTP connections over that port, it seems impossible to resolve for now.

henkg wrote:
ROELLI wrote: .... but my Android phone still won't connect to the VPN ....

This does of course not solve the port 1723 blocking problem at your office / institution.
(I did not try the WiFi at my office. I am quite sure this will not work either: they use a proxy and probably resticted ports). So the problem remains...

My office does too. I used an Android app called Firebind (free registration required for testing 100+ ports) to find which ports have not been blacklisted... I found surprisingly many, actually, which I have forwarded appropriately, so I can access my NAS through DS File, DS Audio and DS Photo+ despite the presence of the firewall.

zandhaas wrote:I'm using openvpn.
I have forwarde port 443 in my router to port 1723,
On my laptop I have installed an openvpn client with port 443 configured.

Peter

If only one could configure which port to use for PPTP on Android. :roll: Come to think of it, if I root my phone, I could install OpenVPN ... now there's an idea. :idea:
DS411+, DS212+
4x WD1002FBYS, 1x WD30EZRX
Latest stable DSM
Routers: Netopia 3397GP, Netgear WNDR3700
Devices: PS3, WDTV Live, SONOS PLAY:5, Acer A100, SGS II
ROELLI
Rookie
Rookie
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 8:31 pm
Location: Switzerland

VPN client functionality

Postby frank01 » Fri Mar 23, 2012 10:17 am

Hi Synology,

I like the idea of the new functionality of a VPN client, but it is a bit limited in its control and use. I would like to see to following features (or maybe they are already possible, but I am not aware):

- start the VPN connection automatically when the Diskstation starts
- a check/test to see if the connection is working and which ip address is has received from the vpn server
- more control which functionality makes use of the vpn connection and which don't. For example a checkbox in the download station, "use vpn client connection only"
- more control when the vpn connection is not running that certain packages will not connect to outside world, they only should run when the vpn connection is up and running (like again the download station)
- the option to change the port number of the openVPN client, a lot of VPN providers do not use the standard openVPN port.

Keep up the good work, love you products. :D

Thanks,
Frank
frank01
I'm New!
I'm New!
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 10:01 am

Re: VPN client functionality

Postby NASfun » Fri Mar 23, 2012 12:01 pm

Good suggestions.
Synology Model Number: DS-213+
NASfun
Trainee
Trainee
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2008 7:00 am
Location: Finland

Re: VPN client functionality

Postby Fit » Fri Mar 23, 2012 1:44 pm

I agree.

And I would also like to be able to schedule the VPN connection.
DS207+ DSM 3.1-1613 | 2 x WD5000AAKS (500GB) | RAID1
DS207+ DSM 3.1-1613 | 2 x WD5000AAKS (500GB) | RAID1
DS207+ DSM 3.0-1354 | 2 x ST31000528AS (1TB) | RAID1
DS109j DSM 4.0-2198 | HDS725050KLA360 (500GB) | Basic
DS209+II DSM 4.0-2198 | 2 x ST31500341AS (1,5TB) | RAID1
DS209+II DSM 4.0-2198 | ST31500341AS (1,5TB) + WD5000AAKS (500GB) | 2 x basic
DS211j DSM 4.0-2228 | 2 x ST3320820AS (320GB) | RAID1
DS111 DSM 4.2-3211 | WD150ADFS (150GB) | Basic
2 x APC Back-UPS CS 500
User avatar
Fit
Versed
Versed
 
Posts: 257
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 9:24 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: VPN client functionality

Postby Chris4Syno » Sat Mar 24, 2012 9:59 pm

+1 !!!
Chris4Syno
I'm New!
I'm New!
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2012 9:57 pm

Re: VPN client functionality

Postby jiiim » Mon Mar 26, 2012 10:25 am

Just bought a 212j and this is exactly what I'm looking for!
jiiim
I'm New!
I'm New!
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 10:23 am

Re: VPN client functionality

Postby TIME2DIE » Tue Apr 03, 2012 2:01 am

Seriously plz implement that.
Need to change the port.
TIME2DIE
I'm New!
I'm New!
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 1:58 am

Next

Return to Feature Requests & Product Improvement Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests