PHPMyAdmin

Discuss with the community any ideas you'd love to see in future DiskStations and DSM updates! We do our best to monitor and forward all of them, but we recommend to also use this form as our team will systematically see your suggestion:
http://www.synology.com/support/inquiry ... enu&type=1
Forum rules
We do our best to monitor and forward your ideas to our team, but due to the large amount, we may not see every single one and recommend to also use this form as our team will systematically see your suggestion:
http://www.synology.com/support/inquiry ... enu&type=1

PHPMyAdmin

Postby hosje » Sun Jun 14, 2009 2:59 pm

I like PHPMyAdmin as a plugin to the frimware or as a SPK to install as a additional package.

The reason is I could not get PHPMyAdmin running.

After uploading phpmyadmin to the Web directory and putting the line " $cfg['Servers'][$i]['AllowNoPasswordRoot'] = TRUE;" to my config.inc.php at the ./web/phpmyadmin/setup/frames directory. I still could not get access. The error massage "aLogin without a password is forbidden by configuration (see AllowNoPassword)" still be displayed.

After checking the forums and Wikis I saw a lot of users having problems with PHPMyAdmin. So I think a lot of people will be pleased to have this feature.

I am user of a DS209.

Regards,
Hosje
hosje
I'm New!
I'm New!
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 2:13 pm

Re: PHPMyAdmin

Postby skippybosco » Mon Jun 15, 2009 3:16 am

@Hosje,

I was running into problems setting up phpmyadmin on my 209+II as well. I created the configuration using phpmyadmin's "setup" and it worked perfect:

1) browse to: http://{path to your 209}/{phpmyadmin dir}/setup/
2) Click New Server
3) Give it a name
4) Check "Connect without a password"
5) Click the "Server Configuration" tab
6) Check the "Allow root login"
7) Save the configuration to a file called config.inc.php and put it in your phpmyadmin directory and set the permissions to 644 (root all permissions and the other groups read).

or just create a file called config.inc.php in your phpmyadmin directory that has this in it and has the permissions set to 644 (root all permissions and the other groups read):

Code: Select all
<?php

/* Servers configuration */
$i = 0;

/* Server: acter [1] */
$i++;
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['verbose'] = '209';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['host'] = 'localhost';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['port'] = '';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['socket'] = '';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['connect_type'] = 'tcp';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['extension'] = 'mysqli';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['auth_type'] = 'cookie';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['user'] = '';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['password'] = '';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['nopassword'] = true;
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['AllowNoPassword'] = true;

/* End of servers configuration */

$cfg['blowfish_secret'] = '4a3363fb80e074.82108361';
$cfg['DefaultLang'] = 'en-utf-8';
$cfg['ServerDefault'] = 1;
$cfg['UploadDir'] = '';
$cfg['SaveDir'] = '';
?>
Last edited by skippybosco on Tue Jun 16, 2009 1:10 am, edited 2 times in total.
skippybosco
Trainee
Trainee
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 11:40 am

Re: PHPMyAdmin

Postby HarryPotter » Mon Jun 15, 2009 6:18 pm

you have to put the config file into the folder web/phpmyadmin and nowhere else. you must be the first and only who is using the folder you mentioned.

sorry but its that simple to download and copy this utilitiy.
*Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!*

DS713+ / DSM 5.0-4458-1 / 2 x HD204UI (RAID0) / LMS 7.7.3-032
DS712+ / DSM 5.0-4458-1 / 2 x HDS721010KLA330 (RAID0)
DS110+ / DSM 5.0-4458-1 / HD154UI
DS408 / DSM 4.0 2228 / 2 x ST31000340AS (RAID0) + 1 x HDS721010KLA330
DS207+ / DSM 3.1.1637 / ST31000340AS + WD5000KS

2 Squeezebox 3 + Boom
Rapsody N35

APC Smart UPS SUA750i
User avatar
HarryPotter
Honorary Moderator
Honorary Moderator
 
Posts: 14117
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: PHPMyAdmin

Postby hosje » Mon Jun 15, 2009 8:34 pm

Thank you for your replys.

I have used the script for the config file of skippybosco. Put it in de phpmyadmin directory. Changed the permissions to root all permissions and the other groups read. After this it worked for me but I think I should do some experiments to get everything secure.

Regards,
Hosje.
hosje
I'm New!
I'm New!
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 2:13 pm

Re: PHPMyAdmin

Postby hosje » Mon Jun 15, 2009 8:49 pm

Thank you for your replyes.

I have used the script for the configfile from skippybosco. Now I could use PHPMyAdmin.

How did you take care of the security? Could I put passwords on the MySQL dabasses without getting problems with my Synology DS configuration?

I think the security should be needed if I would like to get access to my https sites from the internet.

Hosje.
hosje
I'm New!
I'm New!
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 2:13 pm

Re: PHPMyAdmin

Postby HarryPotter » Mon Jun 15, 2009 9:47 pm

after successful login with phpmyadmin and user root just set a good password for user root. Thats all.
*Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!*

DS713+ / DSM 5.0-4458-1 / 2 x HD204UI (RAID0) / LMS 7.7.3-032
DS712+ / DSM 5.0-4458-1 / 2 x HDS721010KLA330 (RAID0)
DS110+ / DSM 5.0-4458-1 / HD154UI
DS408 / DSM 4.0 2228 / 2 x ST31000340AS (RAID0) + 1 x HDS721010KLA330
DS207+ / DSM 3.1.1637 / ST31000340AS + WD5000KS

2 Squeezebox 3 + Boom
Rapsody N35

APC Smart UPS SUA750i
User avatar
HarryPotter
Honorary Moderator
Honorary Moderator
 
Posts: 14117
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: PHPMyAdmin

Postby skippybosco » Tue Jun 16, 2009 1:11 am

Glad it worked for you. I have updated my post to include the setting of permissions for others that come across this post in the future.
skippybosco
Trainee
Trainee
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 11:40 am

Re: PHPMyAdmin

Postby DevineMe » Wed Jun 24, 2009 10:59 am

Thanks skippybosco, for the config.inc.php example post. :D
User avatar
DevineMe
Student
Student
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 2:48 am

Re: PHPMyAdmin

Postby ajay1kumar1 » Fri Sep 18, 2009 12:49 pm

$cfg['Servers'][$i]['AllowNoPassword'] = TRUE;

use this to allow no password for user.

Best Regards
Ajay1kumar1
ajay1kumar1
I'm New!
I'm New!
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 12:46 pm

Re: PHPMyAdmin

Postby olliecampbell » Sun Nov 22, 2009 10:10 pm

Thanks everyone, a good thread this.

How does not having a root password and allowing non-passworded logins affect security? Is there a way to tighten this up?
olliecampbell
Novice
Novice
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 11:18 am

Re: PHPMyAdmin

Postby HarryPotter » Sun Nov 22, 2009 10:18 pm

This settings are only needed for first login. Then you can create a password for root and other users and remove the lines again.

However, as there is now a phpmyadmin package available, this adjustment of this settings should not be necessaray anymore..
*Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!*

DS713+ / DSM 5.0-4458-1 / 2 x HD204UI (RAID0) / LMS 7.7.3-032
DS712+ / DSM 5.0-4458-1 / 2 x HDS721010KLA330 (RAID0)
DS110+ / DSM 5.0-4458-1 / HD154UI
DS408 / DSM 4.0 2228 / 2 x ST31000340AS (RAID0) + 1 x HDS721010KLA330
DS207+ / DSM 3.1.1637 / ST31000340AS + WD5000KS

2 Squeezebox 3 + Boom
Rapsody N35

APC Smart UPS SUA750i
User avatar
HarryPotter
Honorary Moderator
Honorary Moderator
 
Posts: 14117
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: PHPMyAdmin

Postby olliecampbell » Mon Nov 23, 2009 12:14 am

HarryPotter wrote:However, as there is now a phpmyadmin package available, this adjustment of this settings should not be necessaray anymore..



I never realised, thanks I'll go and look it up now.
olliecampbell
Novice
Novice
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 11:18 am


Return to Feature Requests & Product Improvement Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests