Xlink Kai For Synology DS-106

Questions that don't fit in any category below may go here
Forum rules
Please note the disclaimer before modifying your Synology Product.

Xlink Kai For Synology DS-106

Postby k-pax » Thu Apr 05, 2007 12:21 am

Hello.
First I must say that Im a newbie with Synology, I have owned my DS-106J for about 2 weeks now. Im very pleased with it, altough when I see all the things you can do with it,I wish I had more cpu/memory. :)

Anyway back to topic.
I have been running Xlink Kai (free online gaming for xbox,PC,PS etc) on my Linksys router (openwrt firmware), but when it was running on my router It decreased my wifi performance by about 10-20%.
So I thought that it would have been nice if my ds-106 could run it. But after a bit searching, I couldn't find any binarys for Xlink kai.
Althoug I did find a post at the xlink kai forums about a binary for Linksys Nslu2, but that wouldnt run on my ds-106.

So I figured the only way was to cross-compile it myself from source.
So after quite a bit of struggeling on my WMware player/Ubuntu, I did manage to cross-compile xlink kai. :P (for PPC based synologys)
So now its running just fine on my Synology.

If anyone would like to try/use it I have uploaded the binary to this place:
///Must have 2 post before posting urls///
But do to my lack of linux knowledge I dont take any responsibility for it, use it at your own risk. I do see that the kaid binary become quite large, 6MB! but its working just fine here.

If you want to try it, do not place S90kaid in the init.d the first time, just copy kaid.conf to /opt/etc/ and kaid to /opt/etc/bin/
Then start kaid with this line: /opt/bin/kaid -c /opt/etc/kaid.conf -d

If it works just fine, and you always want it to run, copy S90Kaid to /opt/etc/init.d/ so it autostarts with the Synology.

The only thing left is opening UDP port 30000 from your router to the Synology, then you can start playing. :)
k-pax
I'm New!
I'm New!
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 11:20 pm

Postby k-pax » Thu Apr 05, 2007 12:29 am

By the way, Hibernation is working just fine even if kaid is running on the synology. ( Firmware 4.28 )
Last edited by k-pax on Thu Apr 05, 2007 12:35 am, edited 1 time in total.
k-pax
I'm New!
I'm New!
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 11:20 pm

Postby k-pax » Thu Apr 05, 2007 12:31 am

I couldnt post the Url for kaid in the first post. So here it is:
Link
k-pax
I'm New!
I'm New!
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 11:20 pm

Will it work on a CS-407e?

Postby chum » Wed Jul 11, 2007 9:44 am

Do you know if this will work with a CS407e running firmware 462. Also do you know if there would be much performance loss from running it?
User avatar
chum
Knowledgeable
Knowledgeable
 
Posts: 367
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 9:16 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: Xlink Kai For Synology DS-106

Postby 4get9 » Wed Jul 11, 2007 2:25 pm

k-pax wrote:If you want to try it, do not place S90kaid in the init.d the first time, just copy kaid.conf to /opt/etc/ and kaid to /opt/etc/bin/

/opt/bin/
4get9
Novice
Novice
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 12:46 pm

Postby 4get9 » Wed Jul 11, 2007 2:29 pm

Excellent ! Thanks for your job !
But it seems that my modem is not compatible with xlink Kai...
I'll try this later.
4get9
Novice
Novice
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 12:46 pm

Postby w00dst0ck » Wed Oct 17, 2007 2:59 pm

please reupload that file
User avatar
w00dst0ck
Rookie
Rookie
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 9:56 am

Postby Matr1x » Thu Oct 18, 2007 12:12 am

Would be GREAT if X-Link Kai was also available for the DS107+ 8)
User avatar
Matr1x
I'm New!
I'm New!
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 2:30 pm

Postby k-pax » Sat Oct 27, 2007 2:42 am

k-pax
I'm New!
I'm New!
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 11:20 pm

Re: Xlink Kai For Synology DS-106

Postby shareonline » Mon Jan 02, 2012 2:28 pm

Hmm anybody wanna post an updated link? I could really use this! thx..
shareonline
Student
Student
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 11:12 pm

Re: Xlink Kai For Synology DS-106

Postby Sunsoar » Sun Feb 05, 2012 3:38 am

Anyone got a current method for getting Xlink working on Synology?
Cheers
Sunsoar
I'm New!
I'm New!
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 1:45 pm


Return to General Mods

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests