Cant get WOL working - DS210+. Any ideas?!

Questions pertaining to Power settings, Auto Block, Permissions, User Quotas and Email alerts may be posted here.
Forum rules
1) This is a user forum for Synology users to share experience/help out each other: if you need direct assistance from the Synology technical support team, please use the following form:
https://myds.synology.com/support/suppo ... p?lang=enu
2) To avoid putting users' DiskStation at risk, please don't paste links to any patches provided by our Support team as we will systematically remove them. Our Support team will provide the correct patch for your DiskStation model.

Cant get WOL working - DS210+. Any ideas?!

Postby beagle » Thu Jul 01, 2010 12:48 pm

Hi all,

I'm struggling with getting WoL working on my new DS210+. I've never used WoL before, but I'm fairly IT proficient and this one's got me stumped! Setup is as follows:

DS210+ on LAN with static IP and WoL enabled.
    Dlink DGS-1008D Green switch
    Linksys WAG-160N router, with ports 80(http), 443(https), 5000 and 5001 all forwarded to the NAS IP as TCP format, and then ports 7 and 9 (WoL - see below) forwarded to the NAS IP as UDP format.

As for a WoL magic packet app - I'm actually trying "on-line" websites that generate and send the magic packet for me from your IP and MAC (because it's not practical or possible for me to install a magic packet app on the client PC owing to admin rights)... Have tried both: http://www.wakeonlan.me/ and also http://www.dslreports.com/wakeup. Whilst I understand this may be the problem - i.e can I be sure the website is sending the magic packet - these both "appear" to be reliable sites for WoL users. However, no joy. I'm using the suggested ports from these sites for WoL access - ports 7 & 9 as UDP, but the DS refuses to turn on over the WAN. It will however turn on over the LAN using the bundled Syno app, so again, fairly confident it's not the NAS, but rather my setup.