hypertonik wrote:Guys, what are you talking about? The thumbs.db file has always been created by the Windows Explorer. At least I have it only in the folders I accessed from Windows during all two years of owning my NASes.
Not if you turn them off...
The real problem for me was that I couldn't see them anymore and they were disrupting file/folder counts. I've been using NAS'es for at least 6 years and have always dealt with them by deleting them. Under DSM 3.0 I didn't have to worry about them; Under DSM 3.1, I not only had them appear, but I couldn't see them by turning on "show hidden files/folders". N.B. - Surprisingly, explorer will only allow you to delete them if you show them as large icons (and a few other styles). If you show them as "details", you will be unable to delete them.
I've turned them off in the group policy editor (probably not available in anything below the Pro/Bus versions).