vmware server for synology

This room is for the discussion of how the Synology DiskStation can meet the storage needs for Virtual HyperVisors.
Forum rules
This is a user forum for Synology users to share experience/help out each other: if you need direct assistance from the Synology technical support team, please use the following form:
https://myds.synology.com/support/suppo ... p?lang=enu

vmware server for synology

Postby webtown » Thu Feb 18, 2010 4:06 am

Is possble install vmware server on synology?
webtown
Trainee
Trainee
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 9:59 am

Re: vmware server for synology

Postby chum » Thu Feb 18, 2010 4:58 am

If you are talking about installing ESX or ESXi, then it is extremly unlikely that you could successfully set this up. ESX requires a certain level of CPU performance which none of the NASs on the market could deliver. However you can use the storage space provided by Synology NASs to be an iSCSI target for a VM guest.

My suggestion would be to search vmware's compatibility guide
http://www.vmware.com/resources/compatibility/search.php?source=web&ct=res&cd=1&ved=0CAcQFjAA&url=http://www.vmware.com/go/hcl&rct=j&q=ESX%20supported%20CPU&ei=Pbp8S62uD8uIkAWC3s3FBA&usg=AFQjCNEXuH3H1BNILfm7AMoBNO0jQXhT-g
"The NASman - Storage for your digital future"
http://www.thenasman.com
Synology Model: DS1511+, CS407e
Firmware: 1358, 1285
HDDs: 4 x Samsung HD204UI 2TB
HDDs: 4 x Samsung HD501LJ 500GB
DMAs: 1 x XBMC,1xWDTV Live
User avatar
chum
Knowledgeable
Knowledgeable
 
Posts: 365
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 9:16 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: vmware server for synology

Postby TomG » Thu Feb 18, 2010 8:57 am

You'll need a far more powerful server system (or at least a decent desk or laptop) to run VMWare Server.

Since VMWare Server running on top of your OS, I wouldn't recommend it for performance reasons. You better have a look at the free version of ESX (named ESXi). It's only based on a small hypervisor that's far more efficient with resources.
DS-107+ | DSM 3.1-1636 | 1x Western Digital WD20EARS
DS-1010+ | DSM 3.2-1955 | 5x Western Digital WD20EARS (RAID5 without hotspare)
TomG
Sharp
Sharp
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 10:49 am
Location: Belgium, Europe

Re: vmware server for synology

Postby iugrifma » Thu Feb 18, 2010 10:02 am

Hi webtown,

As TomG said the processors within the Synology NAS range are not compatible with VMWare. I believe VMWare requires a CPU with built in Virtualization Technology (VT-x).
This can be found in most desktop/laptop machines for example Intel Core Duo or Centrino Duo etc... But not within the PPC CPU's in most modern Synology machines.
The latest Synology models DS710+ etc. DO have Intel chips BUT their Atom processors do not include VT technology. So I don't think you'll be using a Synology for running a vm for
a while yet!
However, you can run VMWare Server on your laptop/desktop and reference the Synology storage.
To give you an idea of the level of specification you might use, I have a Sony Laptop, 3 years old (Intel Core2 Duo T7500 [2.2GHz]) machine with 4Gig RAM connected to a Synology DS209+ via
gigabit ethernet (wired don't entertain wireless it'll end up in tears).
Which runs Windows 7 [64bit] and VMWare Server ver 2.0.
I am able to run multiple vm's located on the Synology but running on the Laptop's CPU, no problems.

Hope this helps, good luck.
Griffo. :wink:

* Model: RS-810+ * Firmware: 4.1-2567
* Model: DS-209+ * Firmware: 4.2-3246
* Modification(s) DS-209+ RAM 1Gb / RS810 RAM 3Gb / +Optware
* Drives Seagate DS209+: 2x ST31500341AS / RS810: 3x ST3000VN000-1H41.
* Network: 1000xBASE T, Full duplex. [Bonded on 810+]
* Services enabled: Most of them!
User avatar
iugrifma
Versed
Versed
 
Posts: 278
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2009 12:25 pm
Location: Hachau, Austria

Re: vmware server for synology

Postby webtown » Thu Feb 18, 2010 2:59 pm

I already tried with a PC with vmware server and iscsi in Synology.
I wanted to maybe use a Synology for VMware and one for iSCSI to reduce energy consumption of my VMware Server.
webtown
Trainee
Trainee
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 9:59 am

Re: vmware server for synology

Postby TomG » Thu Feb 18, 2010 3:21 pm

Similar question: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=17996
DS-107+ | DSM 3.1-1636 | 1x Western Digital WD20EARS
DS-1010+ | DSM 3.2-1955 | 5x Western Digital WD20EARS (RAID5 without hotspare)
TomG
Sharp
Sharp
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 10:49 am
Location: Belgium, Europe

Re: vmware server for synology

Postby chrischambers » Fri May 28, 2010 7:54 am

this is something I through about but,, running a VM client on the NAS.

but after looking that the SPEC on the NAS and the SPEC'S I will need to run a decent VM Cleint I came to the concluesion that that NAS is nopt build for it at the moment.

I also have a Old laptop and PC running VM Serve, and I have a Mapped Drive to my NAS. I will be looking at the Hypervisor technology to see if that helps in the connection between the Software and the NAS
Regards

Chris Chambers

ISP - NTL Boardboard - 60mb
Router - NTL's Own Brand
NAS - DS110j : FirmWare DSM 4.1 2668
HardDrive 1 X Western digital WD10EADS-00L5B1 1TB

External USB Drive - WD My Book Essential 3TB External Hard Driver (USB 3.0/2.0) - Data
External USB Drive - Seagate 4TB External Hard Driver (USB 3.0/2.0) - Media - Formatted as EXT4.


No longer Connected
External USB Drive - Western Digital IDE 500G in Max Value USB 2.0 Combo Hard Drive Enclosure
chrischambers
Sharp
Sharp
 
Posts: 163
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2009 4:09 pm
Location: Hampshre, UK


Return to Virtual HyperVisors (VMWare/ESXi)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests