mail server with more than 1 domain

Discussion Room for the Synology MailStation Package
Forum rules
1) This is a user forum for Synology users to share experience/help out each other: if you need direct assistance from the Synology technical support team, please use the following form:
https://myds.synology.com/support/suppo ... p?lang=enu
2) To avoid putting users' DiskStation at risk, please don't paste links to any patches provided by our Support team as we will systematically remove them. Our Support team will provide the correct patch for your DiskStation model.

Re: mail server with more than 1 domain

Postby ianarb » Mon Sep 21, 2009 4:47 pm

if you dont like using vi (which i can understand) - i tend to find that using the 3rd party app "Config File Editor" is a really simple way of making a few minor alterations to files without leaving the confort of the GUI (http://www.mertymade.com/syno/#cfe)

in order to edit the main.cf, all you need to do is install this app as you would do any app (through the package management thing). When you run it it will appear under the 3rd party apps on the bottom left of the GUI. On the drop down list box you will need to make a slight edit to the "config file editor" profile so it knows which file you want to edit. To include the main.cf file add "/usr/syno/mailstation/etc/main.cf, main.cf". then to enable this change go to the package installer - rerun the "config file editor" package. Next time you access the config file editor, you will see main.cf as an editable file....

reading what i just wrote, it sounds so much more difficult than it is...sorry, its probably the way i explained it!

hope it helps you?
ianarb
I'm New!
I'm New!
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 2:26 pm

Re: mail server with more than 1 domain

Postby tomndeb » Tue Sep 22, 2009 12:36 am

Thank You, Thank You, Thank You!

With your tip ianarb combined with dino's tip, it is now working.

Would be nice if it was simpler yet, but can live with this.

You guys are great - thanks so much for your input.
tomndeb
Beginner
Beginner
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 2:13 am

Re: mail server with more than 1 domain

Postby TomS » Thu Sep 24, 2009 10:04 am

Hey, It works for me also, however I would like to have two different mail boxs to fetch the mails from (so that they do not get mix up). Is that possible???

Regards
Tom
TomS
Trainee
Trainee
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 9:55 am

Re: mail server with more than 1 domain

Postby GNOE Inc. » Fri Sep 25, 2009 7:35 pm

dino wrote:edit /usr/syno/mailstation/conf/main.cf and ......

In my case the right path was /usr/syno/mailstation/etc/main.cf
DS 207+ FW: DSM 3.1 -1637
DS 710+ FW: DSM 4.3
DS 212+ FW: DSM 4.3

We know everything about nothing ......

Note: English is not my native language.......
User avatar
GNOE Inc.
Versed
Versed
 
Posts: 238
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 8:41 pm

Re: mail server with more than 1 domain

Postby ckvist » Fri Nov 27, 2009 10:59 pm

This is why i'm sending the DS509+ back and getting my money back.... - I would NEVER have guessed that i can not handel more than one maildomain!!! - And even worth... Almost a year, and NO official answer. It looks like this forum is only for the owners to help each other, not for the makers to help at all !!!

Great forum by the way... Looks like my posts has to be approved, making the process of getting help VERY slow!
ckvist
I'm New!
I'm New!
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 8:41 am

Re: mail server with more than 1 domain

Postby biginski » Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:14 pm

GNOE Inc. wrote:
dino wrote:edit /usr/syno/mailstation/conf/main.cf and ......

In my case the right path was /usr/syno/mailstation/etc/main.cf


Tried to modify MAIN.CF with VI in PUTTY but get the message that the file is readonly.
What command do i need with CHMOD to put the attribute to WRITE and
after editing, what CHMOD command to change it back???
New in Linux, hard trying (and learning) but need some help.
Regard, Ebo.
biginski
I'm New!
I'm New!
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 1:14 am

Re: mail server with more than 1 domain

Postby HarryPotter » Thu Dec 24, 2009 12:39 am

login as root, not as admin!
*Please do not Private Message me for support questions; leave it on the forum so all members can learn. Thanks!*

DS713+ / DSM 5.0-4458-1 / 2 x HD204UI (RAID0) / LMS 7.7.3-032
DS712+ / DSM 5.0-4458-1 / 2 x HDS721010KLA330 (RAID0)
DS110+ / DSM 5.0-4458-1 / HD154UI
DS408 / DSM 4.0 2228 / 2 x ST31000340AS (RAID0) + 1 x HDS721010KLA330
DS207+ / DSM 3.1.1637 / ST31000340AS + WD5000KS

2 Squeezebox 3 + Boom
Rapsody N35

APC Smart UPS SUA750i
User avatar
HarryPotter
Honorary Moderator
Honorary Moderator
 
Posts: 14183
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: mail server with more than 1 domain

Postby jayos » Thu Mar 25, 2010 9:04 pm

Ok.

I have set up multiple domains using virtual host.
I want the ability to have multiple email domains, there is a possibility that john@domain1.com and john@domain2.com are 2 totally separate people.

Can this be done?
jayos
I'm New!
I'm New!
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 1:37 pm

Re: mail server with more than 1 domain

Postby GNOE Inc. » Thu Mar 25, 2010 10:02 pm

For all of you who want to edit config files on your Synology within your Diskmanager, here's a tip. It's easy to use and you don't have to login and use linux commands:
Configfile editor package: http://www.mertymade.com/syno/index.html#cfe

Add this 2 lines to the configfile editor to get full control of your mailstation:
Code: Select all
/usr/syno/mailstation/etc/main.cf,Mailstation config
/usr/syno/mailstation/etc/aliases,Mailstation aliases


To add multiple domainnames, add in 'Mailstaion config' to the 'mydestination'-row:
Code: Select all
mydestination = $myhostname, yourdomain2, yourdomain3


The row can be found quickly by using your browsers search function. After editing the config file click on 'save' and restart your mailstation-package.

Beware that after a firmware-update mailstation changes are lost and you have to add it again in your main.cfg. Configfile Editor's options are not affected after a firmware-update.

[edit] Sorry, it's almost the same suggestion as mentioned by ianarb earlier. Sorry for that... :oops: [/edit]
DS 207+ FW: DSM 3.1 -1637
DS 710+ FW: DSM 4.3
DS 212+ FW: DSM 4.3

We know everything about nothing ......

Note: English is not my native language.......
User avatar
GNOE Inc.
Versed
Versed
 
Posts: 238
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 8:41 pm

Re: mail server with more than 1 domain

Postby jaz » Wed Apr 14, 2010 9:11 pm

HI,

I am new here and I am trying to set up a mailstation with two domains. My first domain is Jasper@domain2.nl and my second domain is Jasper@domain3.nl.
Now I have installed ConfigFileEditor and I am able to change the mail.c file but I am not sure where to add the line #mydestination = $myhostname, domain2, domain3.nl

mail.c file
# See also below, section "REJECTING MAIL FOR UNKNOWN LOCAL USERS".
#
#mydestination = $myhostname, localhost.$mydomain, localhost
#mydestination = $myhostname, localhost.$mydomain, localhost, $mydomain
#mydestination = $myhostname, localhost.$mydomain, localhost, $mydomain,
# mail.$mydomain, http://www.$mydomain, ftp.$mydomain
#mydestination = $myhostname, domain2, domain3.nl
mydestination = $myhostname

When I send a email to jasper@domain3.nl I am getting a Mail Delivery System [MAILER-DAEMON@smtp04.online.nl] so it looks like it doesn't work.
Could some please tell if what is wrong?

Thanks!
Jasper
jaz
I'm New!
I'm New!
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 8:54 pm

Re: mail server with more than 1 domain

Postby GNOE Inc. » Thu Apr 15, 2010 6:14 pm

jaz wrote:mail.c file
# See also below, section "REJECTING MAIL FOR UNKNOWN LOCAL USERS".
#
#mydestination = $myhostname, localhost.$mydomain, localhost
#mydestination = $myhostname, localhost.$mydomain, localhost, $mydomain
#mydestination = $myhostname, localhost.$mydomain, localhost, $mydomain,
# mail.$mydomain, http://www.$mydomain, ftp.$mydomain
#mydestination = $myhostname
mydestination = $myhostname, domain2, domain3.nl


Every row with a #-character doesn't work, # stands for 'remark'. The above configuration should work.
DS 207+ FW: DSM 3.1 -1637
DS 710+ FW: DSM 4.3
DS 212+ FW: DSM 4.3

We know everything about nothing ......

Note: English is not my native language.......
User avatar
GNOE Inc.
Versed
Versed
 
Posts: 238
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 8:41 pm

Re: mail server with more than 1 domain

Postby jaz » Thu Apr 15, 2010 9:05 pm

Thanks, it works now. I am now able to receive emails from two domains.
But......

I am using outlook 2007 to retrieve my email from the two domains. I have added two accounts and they have there own inbox.
Now when I send a email to jasper@domain2.nl it is visible in the inbox of domain2.nl but also in domain3.nl.
Is it possible to only see the email that is send to jasper@domain2.nl in the inbox of account domain2.nl and emails send to jasper@domain3.nl in inbox of account domain3.nl?

iff this is possible how do I set this up?

Thanks Again
jaz
I'm New!
I'm New!
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 8:54 pm

Re: mail server with more than 1 domain

Postby GNOE Inc. » Sun Apr 18, 2010 10:12 am

From what I know, all Jasper's are the same mail account. So jasper@domain1.nl is the same as jasper@domain2.nl and jasper@domain3.nl. That's because you only have one user 'Jasper' on your Synology and are not able to split this user into three virtual split personalities..... :)
DS 207+ FW: DSM 3.1 -1637
DS 710+ FW: DSM 4.3
DS 212+ FW: DSM 4.3

We know everything about nothing ......

Note: English is not my native language.......
User avatar
GNOE Inc.
Versed
Versed
 
Posts: 238
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 8:41 pm

Re: mail server with more than 1 domain

Postby pz1 » Sun Apr 18, 2010 12:20 pm

jaz wrote:Thanks, it works now. I am now able to receive emails from two domains.
But......

I am using outlook 2007 to retrieve my email from the two domains. I have added two accounts and they have there own inbox.
Now when I send a email to jasper@domain2.nl it is visible in the inbox of domain2.nl but also in domain3.nl.
Is it possible to only see the email that is send to jasper@domain2.nl in the inbox of account domain2.nl and emails send to jasper@domain3.nl in inbox of account domain3.nl?

iff this is possible how do I set this up?

Thanks Again

As you are using Outlook, you could use Outlook's rule editor for incoming mail to move mails into the proper box I assume.
DS-207+ 128MB; DSM 3.1-1594
HDD: WDC WD10EADS-00L5B1 (01.01A01)
LMS 7.7.1 via SSODS4.9.1mod2 (by j-r)
DS212+ 512MB; DSM 4.0-2228
LMS 7.7.2-007 via Synology spk
pz1
Knowledgeable
Knowledgeable
 
Posts: 373
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 9:56 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: mail server with more than 1 domain

Postby jaz » Sun Apr 18, 2010 4:12 pm

Hi guys,

Thanks for your sollutions but it is not what I would like to have, please let me explain again what the problem is.

First, I am loging on with the user 'Jasper' in windows, after that I am using outlook 2007 to set up two accounts, Jasper@domain2.nl and Jasper@domain3.nl. Both accounts have there own inbox. So far so good :D

Now when I send a email to Jasper@domain2.nl from my hotmail account, I see this incoming email in both inboxes. What I would like to see is that all mail send to jasper@domain2.nl is only visible in the inbox of account Jasper@domain2.nl. And all mail send to Jasper@domain3.nl is only visible in the account of jasper@domain3.nl.

Any more sollutions?
jaz
I'm New!
I'm New!
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 8:54 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Mail Station

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests